Reset Password

Testimonials

August 29, 2016 by Wayne

Guest book reviews and testimonials for Cottages Made For Two-

26th September – 1st October 2021. We had a great time staying in Parlour cottage. Every evening we moved the dining table over to the huge front window and dined watching the day turn to night. The accommodation is great with lots of space, we felt very at home. Thanks again.

Pamela and Paul. Glasgow.

17/9/21. Just spent another relaxing week at Ellen Hall celebrating our engagement. This time we stayed in Salkeld cottage which is just perfect for a romantic stay. Beautiful surroundings…… we’ll be back!

Wendy and Frank. Liverpool.

3 – 5th Sept 21. A wonderful weekend enjoying the short ‘Indian Summer’. Another relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable stay with our fabulous hosts 7 their family 🙂

Chris, Dianne & Murphy. Darlington.

30/08/21 – 04/09/21. Thank you for a lovely stay in your beautiful cottage. We’ve had an amazing honeymoon and sad to go back home. The hot tub was amazing…….. we can’t wait to stay again.

Emma & Daniel, Nantwich.

2nd – 9th Aug 2021.  Thank you for a very pleasnt stay, we enjoyed our little cottage for 2. Hopefully we will be back again. Everthing we need was available, the cottage was clean and well presented.

Elaine, Driffield.

31/7/21 – 7/8/21. Had a lovely week. The cottage had everthing that we needed & more. I love the bedroom upstairs with the bathroom and lots of space. The cottage is in an ideal space……. hoping to book for next year.

Lyn & Eric, Cleveland.

1/8/21 – 8/8/21. Thank you for yet another lovely stay here. We will definitely return!

Christian and Julie. Sandbach.

13 – 16th July ’21. Glad to be back – sorry to leave! A little piece of heaven in our ‘happy place’. Hope to return soon. Many thanks.

Dianne & Chris +Murphy. Darlington.

28th June – 2nd July 2021. Fantastic stay in every respect. Hope to come again before long. Thank you for everything, especially the weather! 🙂

Helen & Garry, York.

Thank you so much for having us! We’ve had a lovely time. Everything was super clean…..the cottage is lovely. Scenery here is beautiful and we really liked the hot tub. Definitely worth the nine hour trip from the South East Coast!

Ben and Yasmin, Kent.

21.6.21 – 23.6.21. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come again in the future. See you then. P.s. Wayne and Jo were very friendly and helpful. A great place to stay.

Steve & Linda, Durham.

16th June – 21st June 2021. Thank you for a restful break. It was nice to be back after an absence of 16 years – we will be back. Especially enjoyed the hot tub- very relaxing! Thanks Jo for being so welcoming and helpful. Look forward to our return.

John & Sylvia, Cumbria.

07.06.21 to 09/06/21. Loved it, was great, definitely want to come again. It’s all really beautiful……..incredible value for money.

Luke and Kait, W.Yorks

28/5/21 – 30/5/21. Really enjoyed our stay, so peaceful and relaxing. Would definitely return, cottage was lovely.

James & Nickola, Leicester.

25th May 2021. Thank you for a lovely stay to celebrate my 50th! Had a great time, thank you guys!

Helen and Craig, St Helens.

21/05/2021. Lovely stay at Ellen Hall as always. The weather was especially kind this visit but just to be back at Gilcrux and in the Lakes with Jo and Wayne was the highlight. A reassuring feeling of normality!! Thank you.

Mathew & Rose. Cambridgeshire.

17th May – 21st May 2021. Had an amazing time. Our first proper holiday together at last. It was perfect fo a young couple, we would recommend to family and friends and will defo be back. Lovely stay if your looking for a relaxing getaway, somewhere quiet.

Joe & Jen, Cheshire.

18.4.2021. Lovely quiet place. Can’t fault accommodation. Very welcoming, nice people. Would definitely recommend and hoping to return.

Julie and Kevin, Newton Aycliffe.

Thank you for an incredibly relaxing anniversary break. Super cosy and Christmassy 🙂  Nothing was too much trouble and we will be back, I’m sure!

Andrea, Gareth & Brody. 13th December 2020.

2nd November 2020 2 nights. Thank you again for being so accommodating with the change of dates due to ‘lockdown’ mark 2!! A great couple of relaxing nights, just what we needed. many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.

Dianne, Chris, Ozzie and Murphy 🐾🐾. Co Durham

30th October 2020 very welcoming when we arrived. Nice, Clean and warm cottage with nice views. Town close by to do some shopping and there are some nice walks to be had as well.

Michael and Lorraine, Manchester

30th October 2020 2 nights. Lovely cottage, absolutely loved our weekend staying here. thank you so much.

Mark and Donna, Dumfries

19th October 2020 7 nights Stayed for a week on honeymoon, had a lovely time visiting all the beautiful places nearby. Would recommend a trip to Buttermere.

Joanne and Murray. Glasgow

25th October 2020 5 nights. We really enjoyed our stay at Hayloft cottage and would like to try a different cottage sometime as well. We loved exploring the area, even in the rain.

Charlotte and Matt. Birmingham.

23rd October 2020 7 nights. A lovely time was had at this beautiful location. The cottage was lovely, clean and compact. Perfect for two people. Lots of places around to visit and sight see. Thanks Geoff and Jackie.

Geoffrey and Jacqueline Turner. East Yorkshire

21st October 2020. Thank you for a lovely stay once again. This gorgeous place never fails us & thank you for the special birthday effort- I was really touched…….of course we will be back again. Stable, site, hot tub, owners – faultless!

Jasmin and Kris + Billy, Crewe.

16th Oct – 19th October 2020. Thanks so much for having us, such a lovely spot. The cottage is a really nice place to stay and the dogs loved it! Will definitely recommend to family and friends

Danny, Lauren, Pippa & Minnie :) Lancaster.

15 October 2020, 3 nights. Cosy getaway and everything we needed, including the bonus of a Hot Tub. Fabulous food and welcome from the local pub. Thank you.

Sam and Paul, Chester,

12/10/20 – 15/10/20. Lovely cottage, relaxing break and long walks. Allonby was our fave, walking to Maryport then to the tea room in Allonby for a well deserved cuppa. The hot tub was fab, would highly recommend.

Lee & Sarah, Hull.

9 -11th October 2020. Had a really lovely stay. Very clean and very welcoming. Will definitely be recommending to family and friends. Thank you.

Gareth & Abie, Leics.

4th – 8th October 2020. Had an amazing time- very relaxing & very peaceful. The hot tub was a wonderful extra. The accommodation was perfect- thank you and I will be back.

Julie, York.

19th Sept – 2nd Oct 2020. We had a wonderful time in Salkeld cottage. Very rustic and homely. The stream and grounds are lovely.

Jane and David, Dartford.

19-9-20 to 29/9/20. Cosy, very well equipped cottage. Very comfortable, clean and tidy. Nice location and peaceful, with a very warm welcome. Will definitely be back.

Philip & Edith, Staffs.

18th – 20th September 2020. Lovely cottage. Had a really nice weekend. Definitely coming back again. Thank you.

Ian and Michelle, Skelmersdale.

13th – 20th September 2020. We have had another lovely holiday. Thank you for arranging the nice weather for us. Looking forward to the next time.

Glynis & John, Newcastle.

Great wee cottage and good base. Lovely surroundings and other guests really friendly. Jo very sociable, will definitely return.

Liesla and Martin, Livingston.

7th -12 Sept’ 2020. We have enjoyed our stay at Parlour. Very clean and tidy, would recommend it to friends and family. Nice and quiet, we will come back again.

Heidi and Kevin, Redditch.

1st September 2020, 5 nights. Dear Jo and Wayne. Thank you for another wonderful stay, our warm cosy cottage and your kindness & friendship. We will be back soon, Best wishes Rose and Matt.

Rose and Matt, Cambridge.

31st August 2020. 5 nights. We very much enjoyed our stay. It was just the break that we needed! The log fire in the evenings was lovely. Thank you for your warm welcome.

John and Isobel. Bath

29th August 2020. 7 nights. Thank you Jo and Wayne. We have had another wonderful relaxing time. Just what we needed. Hope to see you again soon.

Kev, Deb and Peanut 🐾 York.

1st September 2020. 4 nights. A lovely stay again! Just what we needed. This smaller cottage was nice and cosy. The shower gets really hot, just what you need after a walk. We will, of course, be back again.

Jasmin, Kris and Billy the beagle 🐾. Crewe

28th August 2020. 5 nights. We had a really lovely stay. It’s pleasant & quiet and the locals ar top notch. thanks for the no fuss entry, it made arrival stress free and easy after a long drive. nice clean cottage and be

Caroline & Max, Stourbridge

28th August 2020, 3 nights. Lovely stay here. Great location for exploring, good facilities. Many thanks.

Grant, Theresa, Meg 🐾 & Cassie 🐾, Blackburn.

28th August 2020 3 nights. We have had an absolutely amazing time. The cottage has been perfect, Jo has been an amazing host and we will definitely be coming back. Thank you for making our engagement special!

Ben and Amy, Washington.

28th August 2020 3 nights. Fab stay. Just perfect that we can bring the dogs too. Thank you and we will definitely be booking again.

Jo, Rich, Bert 🐾 & Ernie 🐾, Tamworth

11th – 16th Sept’ 2020. Amazing stay, thoroughly enjoyed every part. Hot tub was an amazing edition. We will 100% be back again soon.

Ellie & Sam, Suffolk.

06/08/20 – 10/08/20 . Very nice accommodation. Lovely village, with very friendly people.

Keith and Wendy, Hertfordshire.

1 – 8 Aug 2020. Thanks for another relaxing stay in Salkeld cottage. Loved the hot tub as always and the peaceful area. We always feel it’s a home away from home here at Ellen Hall! Hope to see you soon.

David, Jo & Charlie 🐾

17/07/20 – 24/07/20. The cottage is beautiful and a lovely place to have a break away. Our dog loved it too, so many places to go for walks and the local pub is amazing. Definitely worth the money and will be coming back 🙂 Thank you.

Danielle, Jack & Odin, W.Yorks.

14th July – 20th July 2020. We have loved our stay in Gilcrux. The locals are very friendly and the Mason’s Arms welcomed us like part of the community. The cottage is beautiful and we loved our stay. Brody loved it too 🐾 so thank you. We will definitely recommend and come back. I bet it’s lovely in the winter.

Wendy, Andy and Brody🐾 Stoke-on-Trent.

 

 

  • Testimonials

    26th September – 1st October 2021. We had a great time staying in Parlour cottage. Every evening we moved the dining table over to the huge front window and dined watching the day turn to night. The accommodation is great with lots of space, we felt very at home. Thanks again.
    Pamela and Paul. Glasgow.
  • Contact Us

    • Add your telephone number and we'll get in touch with you.