Reset Password

Your search results

Testimonials

August 29, 2016 by Wayne

Guest book reviews and testimonials for Cottages Made For Two-

20th May – 22nd May 2017. My girlfiend booked this place as a surprise for my Birthday. When we arrived the owners had placed cakes, ballons and a banner in the cottage. We have had a fantastic weekend and made some amazing memories. We will revisit soon.

Graham & Joanne, Accrington.

19th – 22nd May 2017. We had a wonderful time staying at Parlour cottage, it was so cosy and we would highly recommend it. Lovely location for beautiful walks. It was a truly chilled weekend and we loved it. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Charlie & Nathan, Stoke-on-Trent.

14th-17th may 2017 Our first time here at Salkeld and had a wonderful, romantic trip. The cottage was lovely, we could just stay here forever. Thanks Jo, we will definitely be back xxx

Lorna and Brian, Ayrshire.

May ’17, 5 days. Beautiful countryside, lovely cottage, friendly “landlords”! We came here for our first honeymoon (the “minimoon”) after getting married on the 6th May, and loved every minute 🙂 It’s great to find a dog-friendly cottage with no compromises. The hot tub is amazing too! We walked around Ennerdale, great if you have a dog who’s not keen on others, as it was so quiet. Thank you Wayne & Jo!

Jeff + Estee, and Belle the Staffy, Chichester.

6th – 13th May 2017. Thank you for a lovely holiday. Accommodation is very comfortable and clean. Jo was most welcoming and helpful. We were so lucky with great weather and can recommend “Mason’s Arms” for lovely food and a warm friendly host.

Tony and Sylvia, Margate.

05 May – 07 May ’17. Our first trip away together and it has been amazing! What a beautiful cottage, so cosy and peaceful on an evening. We will be back I’m sure. Thank you for an unforgettable weekend. xxx

Laura & Michael, Co. Durham

28th April-1st May We have stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. we were looking for a little bit of heaven from our busy daily life and this place was that and so much more! Very relaxed, romantic with the fire lit, perfect setting! Lovely drive down along the coastal road. Wayne and Jo you are amazing, Thank you! we will definitely be back! See you soon Scott and Sarah xx

Sarah and Scott, Hallesowen, West Midlands.

29th April-1st May 2017 had a lovely relaxing break. Thanks Jo for suggesting Ennerdale, well worth the visit, fantastic walk around the lake. Wish that we were able to stay longer but we will be back soon no doubt. Bye and thanks.

Debbie, Kevin and Peanut the dog. York

24-28th April 2017 Stunning part of the country to rest and unwind. Lovely, cosy and comfortable cottage and the hot tub was fantastic! We felt very well looked after, thank you to Jo in particular for that and it was also great to meet your lovely dogs!

Hannah and York, Surbiton.

Another lovely relaxing visit! Parlour cottage is our favourite 🙂  Perfect cottages, perfect location, perfect hosts- the reasons we keep coming back. Until next time, thanks again Jo & Wayne. x

Sue & Les, Fenham.

Easter 2017, 9 nights. Had an amazing break with some extreme walks including an overnighter at Skiddaw House. Masons Arms is great for dogs & food! Will definatlely come back & do some more exploring. Don’t want to go home!

Sian and Alex + Spud & Poppy, Wokingham.

19th April – 3 nights (2017). A lovely break away. Owners were so helpful and always on hand to help/book places to eat- wonderful recommendations. The Dovenby Ship and Bar’n’Bistro- so friendly and nice local ales. Travelled to Bootle to walk with Huskies and enjoyed the hot tub- hope to come again!

Tim & Becca, Loughborough.

17/04/17-19/04/17  Had a lovely stay. Great location, fab hot tub, lovely cottage with everything you need. Wished that we had stayed longer to get full use of the log burner. Kind regards Adrian and Nadine.

Adrian and Nadine, Ripon.

14/04/17-18/04/17 Lovely cottage and location. Had a great time, would love to come back. Especially enjoyed the hot tub. Highly recommend the mason’s arms pub, lovely food and very welcoming. Thank you for a lovely stay. Matthew, Wendy and Benny x

Matthew, Wendy and Benny the dog

13/04/17-17/04/17 Lovely little spot to relax and enjoy the beach and mountains. The Mason’s Arms was great- beat mixed grill we’ve ever had. Lovely views from Allonby beach, hot tub was fab and the Kirkstile Inn and Gosforth hall inn were the best places for food, beer gardens and hospitality (both dog friendly) Thank you for the little Easter bunnies on arrival…lovely little touch. Scarfell was great but even if you don’t go up the views from wastwater are gorgeous. thanks Rach and Darren.

Rach, Darren and Keo the dog, Newcastle upon Tyne.

13/04/17-17/04/17 What an amazing place to visit. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We will most definitely be coming back for longer next time. There are some beautiful walks around- we would recommend going to do the ‘Aira Force Trail’, this is stunning. Jo and Wayne are extremely friendly and more than happy to offer their advice and knowledge. Wonderful place to relax after a hectic start of the year! Thank you for a great time.

Hannah and Sam, Faversham, Kent.

10/4/17 – 13/4/17. What a fantastic few days we have had in a lovely cottage, in such a beautiful location. We’ve loved bird watching by the stream (especially in the hot tub) & have been on some great walks, including exploring the local forest. The 2 local pubs are a nice stroll away. Wayne & Jo are great hosts, leaving us to the peace & quiet, but offering us great knowledge and local advice when needed. Thank you so much for a great stay, we’ll be back.

Bex & Martyn, Wallasey.

9th April, 3 nights. First time visiting the lakes and Hayloft was perfect for us. Perfect location to drive to different lakes. Just the right size and had all the facilities that we needed. The hot tub after a day of a 10+ mile walk was superb! Would love (and plan) to come again.

Laura and Liam, Hull

10.04.17 for 2 nights. Lovely area, fantastic location to drive locally to great walks. Jo, lovely and helpful. Restaurant great, couldn’t do enough for us at the Barn Bistro. Thank you Jane & Rich.

Garner/Taylor, Nottinghamshire.

3 – 7th April ’17. A beautiful place exactly what we wanted. Scenic countryside, peace & quiet, relaxing setting (gorgeous hot tub). Easily within reach of food & wine, walks, lakes, & shops. Thank you. It’s exactly as described- the perfect romantic getaway for two. xx

Bridey & Paul, Oxford.

30th March 2017 – 2 nights. had such a lovely, peaceful stay. The weather was awful but the place is so beautiful that it didn’t affect us. The hot tub is absolutely fabulous! We also visited the aquarium which was well worth a visit. All in all we had a fantastic time! Thank you Wayne and Jo

Shaun and Sarah, Tarleton, Lancs

24 -29 March 2017. We came for a 3 day break, extended it to 5 days for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. Had a lovely relaxing time, so tranquil, the log burner and hot tub great. Visited some lovely places with Patch, he’s thoroughly enjoyed it, he’s a different dog. Thanks to Jo and Wayne. See you again soon.

Graham & Nancy + Patch the dog. Bradford, West Yorks.

24th – 26th March 2017. We had a great stay in your lovely cottage. Thank you for your bits of advice as to the walks choices, both local & around the lakes, those indeed are stunning!

Mariola & Roman, Manchester.

21st – 23rd Feb ’17. Had a wonderful time. Cottage is very peaceful, relaxing and stress free. Hot tub was amazing! All in all had a great time and highly recommend it. Thank you.

Robert & Kelly, Warrington.

17th March – 19th March 2017. A very lovely and secluded area here at Ellen Hall. Wayne has been very helpful during our stay. Hot tub was fantastic, especially with a few cheeky beers!! 🙂 Thank you for your hospitality 🙂 x.

Josh & Danni, Warrington.

17.3.17 – 19.3.17 Our first stay here to celebrate my Husband’s birthday. Had an amazing time and don’t want to go home. Jo & Wayne are lovely and nothing is too much trouble from booking to leaving. Will definately be returning back. Thank you, just what the doctor ordered. x

Louise & Martin, Wigan.

10th – 13th March 2017. This was our first visit to the Lake District & we had a fabulous time 🙂 The cottage was everything that we had hoped for and the hot tub was amazing!! Jo pointed us in the right direction re: places to visit & the local knowledge was really helpful. This place is truly dog friendly too! We’ll certainly be back x.

https://cottagesmadefortwo.com/lake-district-dog-friendly-cottages/

Heather and Ross ( & Maya the puppy!). Redditch.

10th-12th March 2017  Lovely stay for a weekend break to celebrate our four year anniversary. Hot tub was amazing, would definitely recommend.

Ben and Devon, Leeds

24th February 2017, 2 nights.  Had a fantastic time, very relaxing. Just what we needed. Cottage was perfect for two and had everything that we needed. xx

Kathryn and Trevor, Manchester

9th March 2017, 2 days.  This was our first visit to Ellen Hall, we have had a great few days. The hot tub is awesome and is a great way to finish the day. Jo and Wayne have been great hosts, thank you very much.

Paul and Irena, North Yorkshire.

27 Feb – 2 March. Lovely wee cottage, very cosy and comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub! 🙂  Visited a lot of lovely towns and villages, scenery amazing. Will be back. Eleanor and John X.

Eleanor & John, Argyllshire.

21-23rd February 2017. We had a wonderful time. Cottage is very peaceful, relaxing and stress-free. Hot tub was amazing! All in all had a great time, highly recommend it. Thank you. Robert and Kelly.

Robert and Kelly, Warrington

20th-23rd February 2017 Fantastic cottage in great location, great pubs and walks. We also traveled much of the lake district by car and saw the amazing sights. We will definitely return, thank you Wayne and Jo

Danny and Maegan, West Yorkshire

10th Feb, 7 nights. Our second time here and loved it just as much as the first. The cottage is lovely, very cosy. It’s the first time that we needed the log burner and it warmed the place so well. We went out and about every day with some great walks and views. Thank you Wayne and Jo, we will return.

Philip and Fatima, Cambridgeshire

10-12th February 2017 We had a lovely stay, an amazing meal at the mason’s arms. The locals are lovely and the cottages are just enough for two. Thank you.

Chloe and Jacob, Manchester

10-12th February 2017 This is our second visit to Ellen hall and once again what a wonderful stay. managed to make use of the hot tub this time, definitely would recommend making use of this. Thank you for a relaxing weekend. xxx

Patrick and Alex, Manchester

10-12th February 2017 Thanks again for a relaxing cosy break away in the Dykes cottage. Enjoyed it just as much as we did our first time and i am sure that we will be back again.

Ally and Ritch, Linwood.

10th-12th February 2017 What can we say- fabulous place, gorgeous cottage, friendly welcome even though you favoured JJ!! The hot tub was the icing on my 50th birthday cake- made our week. Recommend the Mason’s arms- very dog friendly for food and the Barn bistro. We intended to travel but stayed in our little cottage so we will travel on the way home and see some of the lake district. Thank you so much, we will be back xxx

Karyn and Alan with JJ the Springer Spaniel. Wirral

8-9 Feb 2017 A very comfortable stay, we loved the hot tub. Weather ok for time of year, nice friendly hosts wayne and Jo. we will return and also inform our friends. Thank you.

Dave and Elizabeth, Lancashire

3-5th February 2017 We had a lovely time here at Ellen Hall,very relaxing which was just what we needed! Cottages are a great size for two with beautiful views and the hot tub is a welcome treat. Will definitely recommend this place to others. Thanks

Katie and Fraser, Manchester

3rd Feb- 5th Feb 2017 Our first (and definitely not the last!) visit to Ellen Hall @Salkeld. We came with high hopes of what to expect and we weren’t disappointed! A lovely cottage in peaceful surroundings-perfect. The hot tub was a fantastic bonus. Thank you so much Jo and Wayne.

Gill and Adrian, Wigan.

24 – 27th Jan ’17. Fabulous cosy cottage, just what we were looking for! The hot tub is a must try 🙂 . We can highly recommend the Mason’s Arms for food- lovely walk there and back under the stars! Thank you very much to Wayne and Jo- lovely, friendly hosts!

Helen and Luke, Helsby.

24th – 26th January 2017. Had a lovely break in the cottage. Enjoyed a day out at Keswick, followed by a relaxing night in the hot tub. Made use of the log burner too on our cosy nights in. Thank you Wayne and Jo.

Sarah and Richy, Sunderland.

20th-23rd January 2017

Thank you for a really lovely weekend. The cottage was perfect, cosy, quaint and idyllically tranquil. We had an awesome time climbing Scafell Pike and the scenery en route was awesome. Thank you for being great hosts, Lou and Rob

Lou and Rob, Kent & Norfolk,

20th-22nd January 2017

Lovely Cottage in a glorious location, we’ve had a dreamy weekend, thank you. Loved the log burner and can highly recommend the Mason’s Arms- very friendly and great food.

Emma and Sam, Highbury

2nd-6th Jan 2017 Been every year since I met Mark (6yrs) See you next year. Love it. Fab! xx

Kendra and Mark, Middlesbrough.

28th Dec 16 -> 29th Jan 17 (8 nights). Really enjoyed our stay at Salkeld cottage! Fantastic location for exploring the Lake District. Would definately recommend! Thank you 🙂

Claudia, Rich and kayleigh (the dog).

2nd -4th Jan 2017 Loved our little cottage for a relaxing get away. Jo and Wayne are great and welcoming hosts. The local pub ‘The Masons Arms’ was a good location for food, pool and a chat with the landlord/locals and the hot tub was a fab addition. Thank you.

Ray and Mary, Leeds

30th December-2nd January 2017 Thank you for another lovely stay for New Year. A perfect cottage for us, lovely to see friends and such a warm welcome as always. Hope you have a great 2017 and to see you again soon.

Rose and Matt, Betley/ Cambridge

24th -30th December 2016. Our second visit to Ellen Hall, last Christmas was for the first time. Wonderful place to stay with excellent hosts, Jo and Wayne. Comfy, warm and homely.

Alan, Rose and Fry, Knighton, Powys.

 

 

  • Contact Us

    • Add telephone number and we'll get in touch with you.