Reset Password

Your search results

Testimonials

August 29, 2016 by Wayne

Guest book reviews and testimonials for Cottages Made For Two-

7-9th December 2018. Lovely little cottage and very cosy with the log fire on a night. Had a drive to Carlisle which was very nice and a meal at the Masons Arms that we can highly recommend. Thank you.

Helen & Andrew, Thornaby-on-Tees

30th November 2 nights. Lovely cottage, just what we were looking for, will be back very soon. Many thanks.

Danny and Jess, N.Ireland/Yorkshire

30th November 2 nights. Had a relaxing time in this wonderful cottage. What wee needed to relax and unwind. Log fire was amazing, made it very cosy. Loved the hot tub experience. We would definitely recommend staying here. We will be back next year hopefully for three nights. Lynn xx

Lynn and David, Kilmornock.

17th November 2 nights. Beautiful place, really enjoyed our stay at Ellen Hall. Hot tub was great. We look forward to visiting again. Thank you.

Chloe and Nadeem, Lancashire.

16th November 7 nights. Amazing cottage and amazing owners. We had a beautiful week away, peace and quiet. Some great days out with Wayne and Jo on hand for anything we needed, especially paracetamol; after a grueling 6 hour drive here!! We would love to return, lovely grounds, great location, we couldn’t have asked for more!! Hope to see you again, we loved every minute Helen and Richard xx

Richard and Helen Nuttman, Hertfordshire

16th – 18th November 2018. Really enjoyed our stay! Lovely and peaceful, a nice break from city life. Wish we could’ve stayed longer. Cottage was lovely, had everything. Sox approves of the surrounding countryside- plenty to sniff! We will certainly visit again! Thank you.

Laura, Ben & Sox

8th – 12th November 2018. Our first visit to Ellen Hall- absolute peace & tranquility. A get away from our busy lives in Emergency Services- not a siren to be heard- just the beck and the birds!. Lovely meal at the Masons Arms & a lovely welcome too, great atmosphere. The Stables cottage was clean & had everything we needed to just chill out. Would thoroughly recommend staying here to family & friends. Would love to come back.

Lisa & Bob, W. Yorkshire.

7th November three nights. Lovely relaxing place, will definitely return. everything was as described on the internet and will recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in the area. The dogs loved it, especially Murphy, our crazy sprocker, he said ”Can we stay, I love my morning dip in the river” Thank you again love Lisa, Nigel, Millie and Murphy. PS Thank you for organising the flowers and the wine, they were lovely.

Lisa and Nigel with Millie and Murphy. South Yorkshire.

02/11/18 – 06/11/18. This is our second visit here and the cottage and surrounding area doesn’t fail to disappoint. We have had a lovely relaxing time away from our busy schedule- this is just what we needed and can’t wait to come again! Thank you again for being so accommodating with our 2 rescue dogs- they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. x 🐾

Katie & Marc. Blackpool.

1st November – 5th November 2018. We don’t want to go home! We had a lovely relaxing break. Would recommend a visit to Keswick and Derwent Water. Jo and Wayne were very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much for a lovely holiday- one to remember. xx

Louise & Jordan. Basingstoke.

28 – 31st October 2018. A return break to the lovely Ellen Hall and a welcome getaway from half term (and pre-halloween horrors!). Lovely restful few days, the dogs enjoyed trips to the beach and very few fireworks! Many thanks.

Chris and Dianne (Ozzie & Murphy).

26th to 28th Oct 2018. Lovely cosy and warm cottage, even with 2 hard frosty mornings. Views great. Setting & sunsetting was beautiful. Nice & relaxing couple of days.

Sam & Steve, Nottingham.

25/10/2018 – 28/10/2018. Such an incredible location to spend our first holiday together. A very enjoyable stay in a lovely cottage. The hot tub was definately a big bonus!

Robbie & Claire. London.

Such an incredible location to spend our first holiday together. A very enjoyable stay in a lovely cottage. The hot tub was definitely a bonus.

Robbie ans Claire, London.

26th-28th October 2018 Lovely cottage, very relaxing stay and loved the hot tub. Thanks Jo and Wayne.

Kayleigh and Adam, Manchester.

Thank you for a wonderful few days in your very comfortable cottage. It has everything you need to help you to relax and unwind. Thank you Jo for recommendations re places to take Clover, excellent walks on the coast and Buttermere where she did not have to encounter close proximity to other dogs so she enjoyed her stay too. Lovely walks nearby to the cottage also. thanks again and would love to return. Karen and Clover.

Karen and Clover. Lancashire.

19th Oct 2018 1 week. Jo was very helpful. Fish and chip shop on the front in Maryport excellent. loved the hot tub and really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Phil and Winnie, Perth (Scotland)

18th Oct 2018 3 nights We have had another lovely stay. Everything perfect as usual. Looking forward to coming back for a longer stay in December. Thank you so much. Glynis and John

Glynis and John, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne

Our third visit and we still love it despite a very wet start, after which the weather has been perfect. We have had some great walks at Wassdale, Ennerdale and Buttermere. If you fancy an invigorating drive try the Hardknott pass!! Many thanks, we hope to be back again

Rosalie, Howard and Buddy. York

19th October 2018, 2 nights. Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay here. We couldn’t have asked for more. It was everything we needed to get away from busy lives and our dogs enjoyed it too. it’s really important that we can bring them away. We hope to see you again in the future.

Steve and Nicolette, Halifax.

14th October 2018, 1 week. We really enjoyed our stay. Wayne and Jo were great hosts, there if you need them but also give you plenty of space. The cottage was great, really comfy and homely. We would love to see the area in the summer months too. We will be back and recommend to others. thank you, hope to be back soon.

John and Suzanne, Glasgow.

15.10.18 to 19.10.18. Second year at Ellen Hall, loved it so much last year, we decided to make it a longer stay this year. We have to say, the stay here surpassed itself form last year(which we didn’t think was possible). So relaxing and inviting, a home away from home. Would recommend the Masons Arms, friendly owners and fantastic food! Thank you Jo and Wayne. xx

Kaylee and Jaymie and Bing. Cheshire.

12th Oct’ 18 – 15th Oct 18. Fantastic relaxing weekend. Hot spa to die for! I think we only left the cottage 3 times, because it had everything we needed. Perfect way to spend our 26th Anniversary- we’ll be back! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. x

Rachel & Sean, Hebdon Bridge.

4 Oct – 7 Oct 2018. Beautiful stay, very cosy, loved the fire. Thank you Jo for all your help. Will definately come back in the future. xx

Siraj & Mehjabin, Blackburn.

05/10/18 – 07/10/18. Came for a relaxing and peaceful weekend and we got it! The cottage was so cosy and warm, a great location and lots of attractions nearby. We went to Buttermere for the day which we recommend. Thanks for the lovely weekend. Will highly recommend to friends.

Mike & Hannah, Flintshire.

2-7 October 2018. Lovely peaceful stay with gorgeous surrondings. The Masons Arms and hot tub made the whole experience perfect. As well, of course, the beautiful lakes & friendly people. Thank you Wayne & Jo.

Kathy & Greg, York.

29th Sept – 5 Oct’ 2018. Had a lovely peaceful week. Excellent location and beautiful cottage. Hot tub was very welcome after a day out walking! Would highly recommend a visit to the Castle Bar in Cockermouth. Excellent food, good beer and friendly staff. We will be back…..

Shaun & Michelle (Keo & Barney 🐾). Newcastle.

3rd-5th October 2018 We came as a stopover on our way to visit friends in Glasgow. The cottage was very warm, the sauna was amazing, so was the jacuzzi. We would highly recommend this place to friends for a romantic getaway ……..Thank you so much x

Kerry and Dale, West Midlands

29th Sept’ to 4th Oct’ 2018. All the comforts of home plus much more, well thought out accommodation. Enjoyed having a hot tub. Will definately be back in the future. Many thanks from both of us. xx

Jan & Di, Boston.

27/09/18 – 30/09/18. We had such a lovely time up here in the Lakes. We were not sure what to expect but the cottage and management were outstanding! Gilcrux village was fantastic and the pubs superb. Will definately recommend to others and will stop over again. Thank you for making our mini break away possible.

Laura & Dan, Stoke-on-Trent

10th – 14 September 2018. We stayed in Dykes cottage in December but I think Parlour is now our new favorite- lovely views of the trees from lounge balcony. Visited Kendal, Carlisle & Keswick this time and went up Catbells and used the hot tub (brilliant)! Hoping to return and bring a dog of our own now that we have seen so many about today. Thank you for a lovely stay xxx

Hayley and Matt, Shropshire.

10th-13th September 2018 Great place, we will be back. The cottage has everything you need. We would recommend the Mason’s Arms for food.

David, Suzanne and Louis. Glasgow

3rd-7th Sept 2018. fantastic place! Lovely cosy cottage and a very warm welcome from the hosts. Very relaxing few days, just what we needed. We will return, soon we hope. Many thanks Anne, John, Lucy and Buster.

John and Anne. Horwich.

01-09-2018 3 nights. Thank you for a very comfortable few days. Great to have somewhere to stay where the dog is welcome. Jo was very helpful and the cottage cosy and clean. Thanks again.

Rebecca, James and Cookie. Ayrshire.

28-31st August 2018. We needed a quiet place to get away from our jobs, so this place fitted the bill nicely. We celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary here, had a lovely meal at the Barn Bistro and enjoyed the hot tub. Going back home nice and refreshed. Thank you Wayne and Jo for having us.

Gary and Sharon, Liverpool.

24th-27th August Wayne and Jo, Thank you sooo much for a fabulous stay. Our first time in this area and we’ll certainly be back. cosy, peaceful, perfect for a weekend break. Once again, thank you.

Ruth and Robbie, Liverpool.

18th-25th August 2018 Lovely cottage for a quiet, relaxing holiday. Made to feel very welcome by Jo and Wayne. Had some great days out in one of our favourite places ‘The lakes’. Buttermere was well worth the visit and we were even joined by tits for lunch on our table at the tearooms. The fairy-dust Emporium in Silloth is a very friendly tearoom which welcomes dogs and is well worth a visit although we would recommend to ring ahead a booking as it is very popular.

Sandra, Peter and Molly. Leeds.

13th August, 11 nights. we came here for our honeymoon and even though we stayed for 11 nights it still wasn’t long enough! Amazing cottage, amazing location and amazing hosts. We have had such a fantastic time and will definitely be back. Thank you xxx

Tony, Vicky and the dogs, Hartlepool.

17th-19th August 2018. Another wonderful weekend here. We will return again.

Christian and Julie, Sandbach.

16th August 2018 3 nights. Such a great little spot! The cottages are cosy and perfect for two. The bed was so comfortable, we slept great. Managed to use the hot tub, which was great, so relaxing! We ate at the Bar’n’Bistro up the road which was amazing. Great weekend overall, we will be back. thanks Wayne and Jo

Ceara and Chris, Newcastle upon Tyne.

11th-18th August 2018. So great to be back at Ellen Hall- Relaxation at it’s best. Love the cottage, the gardens and of course the hot tub. So many places to visit, love Grasmere and Keswick. We can recommend steak night (Wed) at the Barn Bistro. This is a special place, Jo and Wayne have got it just right. Many thanks Debbie and Graeme xx

Debbie and Graeme, Old Kilpatrick

5th Aug’ 2018. 7 nights. Another fantastic holiday. Plenty of walks, would recommend Allonby beach, ideal for dogs and you can walk for miles. See you soon. Debs, Kev and Peanut x

Debbie, Kevin and Peanut. York

12th-16th August 2018 lovely little break in this beautiful place. lots to explore, food in the barn bistro was delicious. Jo and Wayne were friendly and helpful. we will definitely come back. Thank you.

Amia, John and Mia. St Neots.

9th-15th August 2018. Visited here since 2016, stayed in Dykes once, Parlour twice and now in Stables 4 as Parlour was already booked up. Great place, plenty of places to visit, Jo and Wayne are great people and very helpful and accommodating. We actually booked an extra couple of nights this year whilst here as we only originally booked four nights. Very dog friendly and peaceful place to stay, well worth the money. The hot tub is fab after a day of long walks. Thank you Jo and Wayne for a beautiful holiday x

Robert, Helen and Missi, The Wirral.

6th August 2018 3 nights. Nice and quiet 3 days away. Visits to Cockermouth, Maryport and Silloth. Drinks in the Masons arms, very cosy and friendly. Hope to visit again sometime. Hot tub is a must, warm and soothing. Thank you David and Marilyn.

David and Marilyn, Burnley

6th – 13th August 2018. Such a peaceful relaxing place, just what we needed from such a busy life. Dogs very much enjoyed themselves also. Many Thanks. x

Clare and Luke, Somerset.

10th -12th August 2018. We came as a birthday present for my 22nd. Jo and Wayne were so welcoming and the cottage was clean and lovely. We would recommend as we had a perfect weekend away. Thank you love Sophie and Jamie. xx

Jamie and Sophie, Burnley.

7th-10th August 2018. Returning for our second year as it’s lovely place to explore the lakes. Jo and Wayne were away and the couple standing in for them, Les and Sue, were lovely and very helpful. Hot tub was great as expected. Hopefully see you again next year. much love Diane, Michael 7 Alfie xx

Diane, Michael & Alfie. Staffordshire.

23rd July 2018 for 6 nights. Lovely last minute break. great local walks and handy for both coast and lakes. Loved it!!! Willow (the spaniel) too

Ian and Karen, North wales

27th-29th July 2018 Relaxing and quiet weekend away. The stables cottages are cosy and warm as the weather took a turn for the worst. Hired bikes in Keswick and cycled around Derwent water, highly recommended. A relaxing session in the hot tub after was much needed. Thank you Wayne and Jo x

Cassie & Laura, Wolverhampton.

 

 

  • Testimonials

    7-9th December 2018. Lovely little cottage and very cosy with the log fire on a night. Had a drive to Carlisle which was very nice and a meal at the Masons Arms that we can highly recommend. Thank you.
    Helen & Andrew, Thornaby-on-Tees
  • Contact Us

    • Add telephone number and we'll get in touch with you.