Reset Password

Testimonials

August 29, 2016 by Wayne

Guest book reviews and testimonials for Cottages Made For Two-

29th January 2023. The Hayloft is lovely, we had such a comfy nights sleep. Stunning location, Jess (the dog) loved her beach runs. We will be back.

Joanne & Dan, Manchester.

19th – 20th Jan ’23. Super homey & relaxing! Such a nice location, seeing the stars every night from the balcony. Nice & peaceful! Thanks 🙂

Emma & Barrie. Aberdeen.

16 – 19th January 2023. Lovely peaceful & tranquil stay in Parlour cottage. We visit at least once a year for a break that always ensure peace & quiet, just a great place to relax.

Gary, Angie & Angel. Motherwell.

15 – 18 – Jan 2023. Lovely stay. Cozy nights to watch the log fire burning. Couple of great days out to Cockermouth and Whitehaven, had fab fish & chips on the prom. Lovely comfy bed. Thanks.

Craig & Lei, Liverpool.

29th Dec 2022 – 2nd Jan 2023.  Absolutely fabulous stay! Loved every minute, even had a trip over to Scotland! Very peaceful, relaxing stay- thank you so much. We WILL be back! Gill, Colin and Zola (woof).

Gill, Colin and Zola Boxer Dog :) Manchester.

27th Dec – 3rd Jan 2023.  Fabulous week in the Parlour Cottage. Really liked the accommodation and the hosts were friendly. Drove up to Edinburgh, went on may hikes in the Lakes. The hot tub was very relaxing. Thank you, we’ll see you again.

Kelly & Holly, West Midlands.

Dec 30th 2022 – Jan 3rd 2023. A brilliant stay in Salkeld. Very comfortable and warm with the fire going. Typical Lake District weather but sunshine on day 3 allowed for a lovely walk in the hills. We’ll be back before too long.

Matt & Rose, Cambridge.

01/12/2022 – 3 nights. The Hayloft was a perfect retreat after a long year. Tucked away in a quiet relaxing spot, but within easy reach of local amenities. The Hydrotherapy shower was an absolute godsend……… The cottage was beautifully laid out and with all you could need. Hot tub on site was a bonus too. Thank you.

Angie & Stuart, Kilmarnock.

5th – 12th November 2022. Back for our third visit (2 x Salkeld, 1 x Dykes) and, once again, we don’t want to go home! Everything was just perfect, apart from the weather. But even the rain and wind helped us to have a perfect stay; all the more reason to light the fire, close the curtains and relax. We’ll be back again next year!

Suzanne & Gavin, Oldham.

2 nights 29th – 1st Nov 2022. Wow, what an amazing relaxing place! As 999 workers we wanted to chill & relax & this is the perfect place. Now recharged, ready for Xmas rush, then we will be back to recharge again. Thank you! Bruno- “woof”! Had the best time, hosts were so helpful.

Julie & Alistair, Hartlepool.

24/10/22 – 29/10/22. Fell in love with this cottage, very enjoyable stay, lots of relaxation. Would definitely come again.

Tony & Tracy, Durham.

28th – 30 October 2022. Lovely cosy 2 night stay for our first wedding anniversary. Hayloft is lovely & very comfortable. Had a relaxing stay- hot tub was a nice touch.

Tracey & Chris, Manchester.

30th Aug – 3rd September 2022. Had a lovely relaxing break- Oskar’s (the dog) first holiday. Very peaceful- will come back again 🙂

Susan & Louie, Glasgow.

25/9/2022 – 1/10/2022. Another enjoyable visit here. Weather has been very kind to us- had loads of walks. We so enjoyed a change of scenery & being away from it all……. Thank you, see you soon.

Allan & Linda + Angel, Stalybridge

20th – 27th September 2022.  The cottage was lovely and very comfortable- excellent 🙂 Will be back.

Rachael & Clint, Huntingdon.

Sept 12th – 19th, 2022. We have been to the old Hayloft 4 times, what a change, we love it, it is just beautiful. The weather has made it for us too, sun and no rain for 1 week!…… I’m sure we hope to be back again.

Howard & Rosalie, York.

8th September 2022. We really enjoyed our time here, the Hayloft Cottage is beautiful, a perfect location for us to get to surrounding walks/hikes, but nicely tucked away….. The hot tub was lovely after a day of walking. Very comfortable bed & shower was also great. Would definitely stay again!

Beth & Jake, Birmingham.

29th Aug – 2nd Sept 2022. We have been regular guests at Ellen Hall over the past few years. We have had a lovely relaxing time here…….. look forward to coming back again next year 🙂 Jo recommended visiting Loweswater and we weren’t disappointed- the views were spectacular!

Ann, Gordon and Teddie, Northumberland.

7/8/22-14/8/22 1 week

We have had a lovely relaxing mini-moon in the Hayloft cottage with our two dogs Honey and Toby. The accommodation is amazingly modern and felt like a home from home. Jo has been a fountain of knowledge we needed to find the best walks, from lakes to the beach. Thank you Jo and Wayne x

Emily and Callum, Skelton in Cleeveland

9th August 2022 5 nights

From the moment we arrived we instantly feel in love with the place. Jo made us feel warmly welcome. Amazing views, walks and places to visit. I will be coming back, hubby booked this place and I am delighted with his choice. Thank you, simply amazing x

Hannah and Cameron, Edinburgh.

6th August 2022 to 14th August 2022

Our first visit to the lake district, amazing week of sunshine. So many lakes to visit and enjoy. Jo was a fantastic host, full of information on places to go and always had time to chat about our day. The barn Inn does amazing fresh cooked food and the owners and locals are very friendly. Once again thanks to Jo for filming my wedding proposal. Andy and Karen x

Andrew and Karen, Bromley Kent

6th-13th August 2022

Jo greeted us on arrival, very friendly and helpful told us places to visit. Beautiful cottage with everything inside that you would need. We have had an amazing time, looking to come back in September. Look at the Barn Inn, beautiful food, less than 10 minutes walk, couple of minutes in the car. Thank you so much Jo and Wayne love Sharon and Paul x

Sharon and Paul, Leicester

20th July 2022 4 days

Very comfortable cottage, a lovely retreat from the stresses of life. I will return. Thank you for your hospitality.

Carole, Fareham. Hants

29/07/22-05/07/22

We have spent a lovely relaxing week at Hayloft cottage. Location is very tranquil and owners very friendly and helpful. Loads of places to visit from lakes to walking in woods to harbours and beaches. Thanks Jo and Wayne, I’m sure we’ll be back.

Jenny and Michael, Whitley Bay

Beautiful cottage, very welcoming hosts. Lovely and peaceful around here. Plenty of dog walking areas. Highly recommend the Barn Inn for a good pint and good food. Will definitely recommend to family and friends and hopefully be back ourselves in the future.

Maria, Chris, Winston 🐾 and Willow 🐾

8th-10th July 2022 Lovely bolthole for the weekend spent in glorious weather! The coast is so near, definitely worth a visit and definitely recommend the Mason’s Arms in Gilcrux, very friendly and lovely food. The hot tub was a treat as well. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Matt and Vicky, Knaresborough

18th-22nd July 2022. Beautiful as always, this is our second time back. Highly recommend the Mason’s Arms in Gilcrux for some delicious food and nice atmosphere. Wayne and Jo were welcoming as always and the cottage as cosy as ever. Thank you.

Sophie and Liam, Newcastle.

1st – 4th July 2022, Lovely time in a cosy cottage, just what we needed. Recommend the Mason’s Arms in Gilcrux. Beach north of Allonby at low tide great for a dog walk. Great hosts lots of ideas for dog walks etc, Thank you!

Catherine. Marc and Nessa. Hexham

6th July 2022 2 nights. We had a great time, very relaxed which is what we wanted. We also recommend the Mason’s arms pub. The hot tub was very relaxing and the owners are lovely. We hope to be back soon. Thank you x

Gemma and Stan, Lytham St Annes

4th July 7 nights. Very nice place, beautiful cottage. We spent our 25th wedding anniversary here. Loved the hot tub. Until next time, thank you.

Kinga and Wojciech, Southport

22nd July – 26th July 2022. Booked cabin for our mini-moon, had everything we need and in a central location. Recommend booking local pub as both were fully booked when we walked up. Hot tub was a lovely end to our stay. Places to visit- Wordsworth House (Cockermouth), Waterfall Trails (Ingleton), Lakes Aquarium & Golf (Maryport), Wildlife Oasis (Kendall), Brougham Castle (Penrith).

Emma & Rikki, Kirkaldy.

9th – 22nd July 2022. We’ve had a lovely 2 weeks here. The accommodation has been great, comfortable and homely. Had a great time exploring the countryside. Thank you!

Debbie & Mark + Bramble, Walsall

10th to 17th July 2022. We feel like we’ve had a very active and busy little break, but we’ve not even scratched the surface! Fantastic scenery, fantastic hosts and fantastic roasts at the Barn Inn. Never seen the dogs so happy.

Gary & Caroline, Molly & Willow. Norfolk.

Gorgeous accommodation!! Very tastefully renovated. Very comfortable, smells lush 🙂 and has everything we needed. Thank you.

Jayne & Jonathan, Bingley.

27th June – 1st July 2022. Lovely, peaceful, perfect stay at cottage. 2nd visit, will be back next year. Fantastic base for the lakes…….

Steve & Linda, Durham.

25th – 27th June 2022. Lovely weekend away, Jo very welcoming and helpful. Beautiful scenery too! We will most definitely be back 🙂

Megan & Paddy, Liverpool.

24/6/2022 – 27/6/2022. What an amazing little cottage! Had everything we needed and such amazing hosts, in a beautiful setting.  Brilliant! Your doing an amazing job! Can’t wait to come back.

Julie & Nigel, Preston.

18th-25th June 2022. Wonderful week in Parlour cottage, the good weather was a bonus also. Enjoyed visiting Keswick, Maryport, Grasmere, Ambleside and Windermere. Wayne and Jo are very welcoming and helpful as usual. Hope to see you again.

John, Sue and Merlin 🐾

15th June – 19th June 2022. Excellent place to stay…… the summer weather perfect with outdoor seating & local area. Everything you could possibly need in a cosy & tranquil cottage. Definitely recommend & love to come back. PS. Would get 100% on TV’s Four In A Bed 🙂

Jack & Isaac, Liverpool.

13th-18th June 2022. We’ve been coming here for over 20 years and it has never lost it’s charm. Great wee place. Thanks x

Don and Louise, Kirkintilloch.

11th-18th June 2022. Another wonderful relaxing time. Had some lovely walks & days out. Visited Grasmere, Dodd wood + Mirehouse, and Cockermouth river walk is beautiful. Hope to see you soon, Kev, Deb and Peanut  🐾

Kevin, Debbie and Peanut 🐾

11/06/22-16/06/22, Wonderful stay in this lovely cottage, everything that we needed. Jo was very helpful with places of interest. Loved the hot tub. Thank you x

Graham and Lisa, Rutland

5-11th June 2022 Another relaxing and lovely visit. Will return for the same x

Ian and Lynne. Runcorn.

Thursday 2nd June 8 nights. Just perfect- what a lovely cottage. Peaceful, cosy and very comfortable, just what we needed. Thank you so very much Jo and Wayne with warmest wishes from Lizzie and Peter.

Lizzie and Peter, East Riding.

3rd-5th June 2022 A lovely weekend, loved Dykes cottage. very cosy and looking forward to exploring more next time. Thank you, Joy, Mark and Sadie the Boxer  🐾

Joy and Mark, Redcar

2nd June 2022, 2 nights Lovely place to stay, very clean and peaceful.The owners are very polite and welcoming. We enjoyed the surroundings, hot tub was amazing and the village up the road was fun, visiting the pubs etc. Great location, lots of nice walks around us.

Megan, Zoe, Lenny 🐾 and Luna 🐾

28th May 2022, 7 Nights. We booked to stay here for a week and god do we wish it was longer! We don’t want to leave! Lovely little cottage in the perfect location to visit the majority of the lake district. Jo and Wayne couldn’t be more helpful right from the point of booking, giving advice on places to go and generally checking in. We will highly recommend to friends and family and hope to return in the not too distant future. Thank you x

Ash and Zoe, Basingstoke

14th May 2022, 7 Nights. We are returning guests to these  holiday cottages and had the privilege to be the first visitors to stay in the newly refurbished cottage Hayloft.  Wayne & Jo have done an amazing job with the refurbishment and the extra luxury made our stay the best to date.  The cottage had all the amenities you could want and is very comfortable.   The hot tub is a must especially after a long day walking.  We would like to thank Wayne & Jo for a very enjoyable stay and we will definitely book Hayloft again next year.

Judith & Shaun, Newcastle upon Tyne

26th-29th May 2022

We have had such an amazing time. Lovely place and we can’t wait to come back, we could stay forever. The sights are just something else but we still have so much more to see. Thank you and we will see you again soon.

James amd Jodie, W.Yorks

20th – 22nd May 2022. We had a lovely relaxing stay for our wedding anniversary. Loved exploring the Lakes. Thank you!

Dan & Kim, Skipton.

 

 

  • Testimonials

    29th January 2023. The Hayloft is lovely, we had such a comfy nights sleep. Stunning location, Jess (the dog) loved her beach runs. We will be back.
    Joanne & Dan, Manchester.
  • Contact Us

    • Add your telephone number and we'll get in touch with you.