Reset Password

Your search results


August 29, 2016 by Wayne

Guest book reviews and testimonials for Cottages Made For Two-

16th March 2018- 2 nights. Enjoyed a relaxing weekend break in stunning surroundings. Stables 4 is clean, cosy and comfortable with everything you need for a short break. Thanks to Wayne and Jo for making us so welcome and recommending a visit to Buttermere. To top it all off we had excellent food at the Barn Bistro. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Alexa and Tim. Fife.

15th-17th March 2018

We had a lovely time, the cottage is beautiful and the hot tub was great. We had a lovely meal at Barn Bistro, which we would really recommend. Keswick is easily reachable too.

Will and Katie, Lincoln.

What a fabulous time we’ve had! Beautiful, peaceful cottage (fire and hot tub made it extra special) Loved walking and exploring all the beauty of the lakes. Only wish that we could stay longer.

Alix and Sam, Norwich.

6th-9th March 2018 Beautiful relaxing 4 day break. The hot tub was great and the cottage was really nice. We went to Buttermere and Keswick, lovely walk around the lakes. Had a good time all round. We will be back, thank you Jo and Wayne.

Bryan, Jan and Tilly the Border Terrier

6th – 8th March 2018. Wow, what a lovely and peaceful place to stay. Amazing cottage and hot tub. Visited some lovely places, takes your breath away. Two very friendly pubs in the village- with great food. Highly recommend, we will definitely return. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Faye & Chris, Milton Keynes.

2nd-4th march 2018. Beautiful getaway for the weekend in this lovely cottage, even better than expected. Really recommend the hot tub and walking round Buttermere. We will be back again. Thank you Jo and Wayne

Hannah and Simon. Sheffield

23rd – 25th February 2018. Lovely cottage, nice and cosy. Second time being here- just as good as last visit. Will be back again. Thank you 🙂

Louise & Mark, Carlisle.

Lovely stay, Jo friendly and good recommendations for places to visit. Buttermere beautiful, Keswick a great dog friendly place Cockermouth a lovely town with nice riverside walks. Loved the hot tub. Thanks.

Ian, Sandra and Kobe. Carluke

19th-21st February 2018 2 nights lovely, relaxing and peaceful break in hayloft cottage, just the right size for us two and the dog. Well equipped, clean and tidy. we were lovely and warm at all tines. Hot tub is fantastic. Thank you for a great stay.

Liam, Emma and Cooper, Manchester

16th-18th February 2018. Everything was enjoyable. from the cottage, to the beach, the walks and pubs. Highly recommended, we will return.

George and Carly with Duncan. Lancashire.

17th-20th February 2018 3 nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stay here at Ellen hall, what a lovely quiet and relaxing place, just what we needed after our busy life back home. We will be recommending Ellen hall to our family and friends. great location for visiting places. we will be back. thank you Jo and Wayne

Beryl and Mark, Liverpool.

Fri 16th Feb – Sun 18th Feb 2018. Cosy cottage, great location. Recommend the hot tub. Lovely first wedding anniversary. Thank you Jo and Wayne.

Colin and Carla, Southport.

16th-18th February 2018, 2 nights. A wonderful surprise break planned by the hubby. The cottage is amazing, we had the most relaxing time we have had in ages. Location and area is beautiful. we would recommend the barn bistro to anyone , the meal was excellent. The weekend was topped off by a season in the hot tub. Thank you Jo and Wayne, we will most definitely be back xx

Vanessa and Steve, Macclesfield.

12th-16th February 2018. Beautiful cottage in a peaceful location. Buttermere lake and Wasdale both stunning and worth a visit. Fantastic trip over to Windermere for our anniversary topped off with a relaxing evening in the hot tub. Would highly recommend a dip or two. Thanks Jo and Wayne.

Alison and Ady, Suffolk.

10th-12th February 2018 2 nights (not long enough) 5*+  Cite, cosy, quaint cottage. Visited for my birthday weekend. Such a beautiful place. Perfect atmosphere and surroundings. The hot tub was amazing especially with the sound of the wind chimes and the stream. We visited the Bar’n’bistro, delicious food, such a welcoming community. Amazing and beautiful at Ellen hall. Would come back.

Bex and Chris, County Durham

3rd-6th February 2018 What a beautiful place! So quiet and welcoming, felt like a little piece of paradise, Thank you!

Jax and Ian, North Yorkshire

30th Jan to 3rd Feb 2018 Lovely visit, enjoyed the four days. Very cold weather but lovely and warm in Hayloft Cottage. Thanks Wayne and Jo

Linda and Brian, Lancaster.

3rd-5th February 2018. We had a lovely stay at the Stables Cottage. It was really cosy and warm. The hot tub was brilliant- we will recommend to our friends. Thank you.

Bobbie and Billy, Blackpool.

2nd-5th February 2018 We had a lovely stay in this cosy cottage. Jo and Wayne are so friendly and helpful, recommending us to go to Buttermere which was a beautiful walk. The hot tub was nice and relaxing after a day walking. We would recommend Bar n Bistro for a great home made meal. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

Hannah and Tom, Yorkshire

19th-21st January 2018  A thoroughly enjoyable weekend break- we could quite happily live hear! The dogs had a great time and we were all made very welcome. We are already planning our next break. many thanks Jo and Wayne from Di, Chris and the fur-balls.

Dianne and Chris, Ozzie and Murphy the Cairns. Darlington.

19th-21st January 2018 The most relaxing weekend had by all. Buttermere is a must-the views are fantastic! Very cosy cottage, just wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you.

Shelley and Daniel, with Teddy and Ben the dogs. Blackburn

19th-22nd January 2018 Our second visit to Ellen Hall for a nice relaxing break in hayloft.  The cottage was peaceful and relaxing. Hopefully see you again in the near future Wayne and Jo. many thanks for a wonderful stay.

Simone and William, Newcastle Upon Tyne

19th-22nd January 2018 Fantastic three night stay for my birthday! Great cottages in a lovely area. fab pub up the road too, food well worth the money! We will certainly be back.

Samantha and Dean, Newcastle Upon Tyne

4th-7th January 2018 Lovely cottage in a beautiful location, really enjoyed our relaxing weekend here. Would recommend Ennerdale water if you want a long walk. Hope to be back soon. Rose and Niall x

Rose and Niall, South Wales.

12th-14th January 2018 Absolutely loved the cottage and hot tub, Wayne and Jo went above and beyond to get the room ready with extra surprises. The Masons Arms was a lovely pub, only a 10 minute walk away. Couldn’t recommend this place enough and will deffo be coming back. Overall five stars from us.

Matt and Haylee, Ashton-in-Makersfield.

12th-14th January 2018 We had a lovely relaxing break celebrating a year being engaged. Would recommend the Mason’s arms, sea food basket was lovely. We enjoyed a walk by Bassenthwaite and a trip to Maryport. Hot tub on our last night was great, loved the sound of the river in the back ground. We had a brilliant time, we will be back and will be recommending to family and friends. Thank you.

Grace and Rich & Theo the dog. Manchester

12th-15th January 2018 Last minute booking for our birthdays plus second honeymoon. Lovely place, cosy cottage had a great time, plenty to do. Spa hot tub was fantastic. We will be back.

Ian and Kath + TJ (miniature poodle) Warrington

06/01/18 – 11/01/18 5 nights. Just brilliant! Came here for a peaceful getaway with Hector after a busy few months and it has been idylic. Very cosy and warm, even in -2 degrees C!…….We enjoyed the hot tub on the last night with the river bubbling away and the misty air! We will be back!!! Thank you Wayne & Jo.

Caroline & Liam + Hector, North Wales.

29th Dec-2nd Jan 2018 Another lovely break, a chance to unwind after a hectic Christmas. A nice relaxing way to see in the New Year. Loved the log burner. See you soon, Deb, Kev and Peanut xx

Debbie and Kevin plus Peanut the dog. York

29th December-2nd Jan 2018 Cosy, warm, plenty of laughs, very relaxed. lots to see Buttermere, Keswick, Penrith, Bowness and Windermere. Great few days, loved it, will be back. Thanks

Sarah and Maisie, Liverpool.

24th-29th December 2017 Wow, what an incredibly lovely place to spend Christmas and our Honeymoon. Fantastic hosts and we had a beautiful time. The snow capped mountains were incredible. Had some beautiful walks with the dogs and enjoyed the best scenery. See you next year, we will be back.

Sammy and Claire, Devon

24th-29th December 2017 Lovely cottage and was so excited to see a Christmas tree up too!! Amazing stay and fab that we could bring our working Cocker pup foe our mini break. had a great few days here over Christmas staying next door to our newly wed Mum and step mum. My fiance and I would stay here again.

Alyshe and Liam, Devon

22/12/2017-29/12/17 First time in this area. We booked a week away on a whim for Christmas. Really enjoyed our stay. Lovely Christmas tree and everywhere looked very festive. Thank you for your lovely gift and card. very comfortable stay. Hope to come back in the summer time for a stay. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Christine and John, Cheadle.

2 nights 15th-17th December 2017 This is our first stay here and we’ve absolutely loved it! The cottage was so warm and cosy, and the open fire was the cherry on the top to a perfect relaxing weekend!! We’d recommend a drive down to Buttermere, absolutely stunning views! The food at the Mason’s arms is to die for and the service was brilliant. Overall a brilliant, relaxing weekend. just what we needed!!! Will definitely recommend. Amy and George xx

Amy and George, Derby

2 nights- 9th & 10th December 2017 This is our first stay here and we will definitely be back. Loved every minute of it! The cottage was perfect and the log burner is the ultimate of coziness. Thank you to Jo for the recommendation of Buttermere – simply beautiful. We can’t wait to come back already.

Jo and Shane, Liverpool.

27th November-4th December 2017 We came here for our babymoon/honeymoon instead of going abroad and we have had the most fantastic time seeing the beautiful Lake district. The cottage was perfect- so snug and cosy- I think that it has convinced us to get a log burner! Thank you for your lovely hospitality and for advising us on where to go for walks and we also really enjoyed putting up the Christmas tree. xx

Catherine and David, Scarborough. North Yorkshire.

1/12/17-3/12/17 (2 nights)  Pre-one year wedding anniversary get away (wedding 1/12/18) and we weren’t disappointed. The cottage and surrounding area are beautiful. We spent the whole of Saturday (day time ) in Windermere and it was well worth the trip. We even got our wedding rings in a nice jewelers in Hawkshead. The hot tub session in the evening was amazing. The only downside is that we couldn’t spend longer, but we will be back, perhaps for our 1st anniversary. Thanks Jo and Wayne, see you again soon. G & L x

Graham and Leann, West Calder

16 November 2017 – 4 nights We traveled a long way to get here but we were not disappointed! The cottage was fantastic, the hosts were lovely and spa pool was lovely. Thanks for a great time and we hope to stay again.

Dan and Sam, Tunbridge Wells

1 week 15th-22nd November  This is our 9th visit to Ellen Hall. We always feel well rested when we leave. the fact that we keep coming back says it all really. The cosy little cottage is like a home from home. Just love it, no matter what the time of year.

Linda and Brian, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Excellent accommodation, welcoming and friendly hosts and an excellent location. We couldn’t have asked for any more and will definitely be returning! Thank you very much 🙂

Daniel and Ann, Preston

10th-13th November 2017  Our first visit to this area- booked at short notice a lovely little get away from it all hideaway. Would highly recommend the hot tub. Welcoming hosts.

Tracy and Shaun, Hull.

11-13th November 2017  Simply one hidden gem, beautiful cottage, very homely. Quiet and relaxing. Like coming from home to home 🙂 Highly recommend and would love to come back. Highly recommend Frederick’s restaurant in Cockermouth, amazing food, friendly staff and only 15 minute drive away. Thanks you so much x

Katie and David, Plymouth.

3rd November to 5th November 2017  Beautiful cottage, just a lovely quiet and peaceful break for us both. Enjoyed a trip to Kendal on the way to Ellen hall, then Keswick, Cockermouth and Maryport. Thank you so much for the relaxing break, just what we needed.

Andrea and James, Wigan,

31 Oct – 3 Nov. Had a lovely relaxing break in Dykes cottage. Highly recommend the Dog and Gun pub in Keswick- great food- great service- great for dogs! Had a lovely day at Buttermere Lake- walk around lake about 2 hours- but well worth visit 9thanks for recommendation Jo!). Off to Windermere today, would liked to have stayed longer!

Lorraine & Spencer & Indie, Sevenoaks.

22-27th October 2017 A beautiful cottage in a beautiful place, so peaceful. We enjoyed using the hot tub. We enjoyed a wonderful meal at the barn Bistro. Highly recommend the cottage to friends and family. Hope to see you again in the future. A lovely spot for sightseeing the beautiful lakes.

Lorraine and Ray, Doncaster

13th-15th October 2017 Had a lovely visit! Amazing place to stay, very quiet and relaxing. The hot tub is amazing too!! Will be back again x

Zoe, Catterick.

13th – 16th Oct 17. Great cottage in a superb location! Loved the hot tub! Thanks, will 100% return and recommend!

Fran & Ash, York.

6 – 8th Oct’ 2017. Fourth time here and never disappoints, had a great relaxing weekend. Thanks Wayne & Jo, see you again.

Paul & Clare, Northumberland.

2nd-7th October 2017  Had a really lovely break-totally chilled and relaxed. Be prepared for the portion sizes at the Mason’s arms-They could feed an army. A lovely place to stay x

Mike and Jude. Widnes

29/09/17-01/10/17  We really enjoyed our stay. This is our third wedding anniversary and my 30th, so it’s been a lovely relaxing getaway. The hot tub was perfect, lovely area for it. The bed was so comfortable, thank you for accommodating my husband’s allergies he slept like a baby. Hopefully we will be back in the future. Thanks again.

Jasmine and Jamie, Penicuik, Scotland



  • Testimonials

    16th March 2018- 2 nights. Enjoyed a relaxing weekend break in stunning surroundings. Stables 4 is clean, cosy and comfortable with everything you need for a short break. Thanks to Wayne and Jo for making us so welcome and recommending a visit to Buttermere. To top it all off we had excellent food at the Barn Bistro. We are looking forward to our next visit.
    Alexa and Tim. Fife.
  • Contact Us

    • Add telephone number and we'll get in touch with you.