Reset Password

Your search results

Testimonials

August 29, 2016 by Wayne

Guest book reviews and testimonials for Cottages Made For Two-

2 nights- 9th & 10th December 2017 This is our first stay here and we will definitely be back. Loved every minute of it! The cottage was perfect, hot tub amazing and log burner is the ultimate of coziness. Thank you to Jo for the recommendation of Buttermere – simply beautiful. We can’t wait to come back already.

Jo and Shane, Liverpool.

27th November-4th December 2017 We came here for our babymoon/honeymoon instead of going abroad and we have had the most fantastic time seeing the beautiful Lake district. The cottage was perfect- so snug and cosy- I think that it has convinced us to get a log burner! Thank you for your lovely hospitality and for advising us on where to go for walks and we also really enjoyed putting up the Christmas tree. xx

Catherine and David, Scarborough. North Yorkshire.

1/12/17-3/12/17 (2 nights)  Pre-one year wedding anniversary get away (wedding 1/12/18) and we weren’t disappointed. The cottage and surrounding area are beautiful. We spent the whole of Saturday (day time ) in Windermere and it was well worth the trip. We even got our wedding rings in a nice jewelers in Hawkshead. The hot tub session in the evening was amazing. The only downside is that we couldn’t spend longer, but we will be back, perhaps for our 1st anniversary. Thanks Jo and Wayne, see you again soon. G & L x

Graham and Leann, West Calder

16 November 2017 – 4 nights We traveled a long way to get here but we were not disappointed! The cottage was fantastic, the hosts were lovely and spa pool was lovely. Thanks for a great time and we hope to stay again.

Dan and Sam, Tunbridge Wells

1 week 15th-22nd November  This is our 9th visit to Ellen Hall. We always feel well rested when we leave. the fact that we keep coming back says it all really. The cosy little cottage is like a home from home. Just love it, no matter what the time of year.

Linda and Brian, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Excellent accommodation, welcoming and friendly hosts and an excellent location. We couldn’t have asked for any more and will definitely be returning! Thank you very much 🙂

Daniel and Ann, Preston

10th-13th November 2017  Our first visit to this area- booked at short notice a lovely little get away from it all hideaway. Would highly recommend the hot tub. Welcoming hosts.

Tracy and Shaun, Hull.

11-13th November 2017  Simply one hidden gem, beautiful cottage, very homely. Quiet and relaxing. Like coming from home to home 🙂 Highly recommend and would love to come back. Highly recommend Frederick’s restaurant in Cockermouth, amazing food, friendly staff and only 15 minute drive away. Thanks you so much x

Katie and David, Plymouth.

3rd November to 5th November 2017  Beautiful cottage, just a lovely quiet and peaceful break for us both. Enjoyed a trip to Kendal on the way to Ellen hall, then Keswick, Cockermouth and Maryport. Thank you so much for the relaxing break, just what we needed.

Andrea and James, Wigan,

31 Oct – 3 Nov. Had a lovely relaxing break in Dykes cottage. Highly recommend the Dog and Gun pub in Keswick- great food- great service- great for dogs! Had a lovely day at Buttermere Lake- walk around lake about 2 hours- but well worth visit 9thanks for recommendation Jo!). Off to Windermere today, would liked to have stayed longer!

Lorraine & Spencer & Indie, Sevenoaks.

22-27th October 2017 A beautiful cottage in a beautiful place, so peaceful. We enjoyed using the hot tub. We enjoyed a wonderful meal at the barn Bistro. Highly recommend the cottage to friends and family. Hope to see you again in the future. A lovely spot for sightseeing the beautiful lakes.

Lorraine and Ray, Doncaster

13th-15th October 2017 Had a lovely visit! Amazing place to stay, very quiet and relaxing. The hot tub is amazing too!! Will be back again x

Zoe, Catterick.

13th – 16th Oct 17. Great cottage in a superb location! Loved the hot tub! Thanks, will 100% return and recommend!

Fran & Ash, York.

6 – 8th Oct’ 2017. Fourth time here and never disappoints, had a great relaxing weekend. Thanks Wayne & Jo, see you again.

Paul & Clare, Northumberland.

2nd-7th October 2017  Had a really lovely break-totally chilled and relaxed. Be prepared for the portion sizes at the Mason’s arms-They could feed an army. A lovely place to stay x

Mike and Jude. Widnes

29/09/17-01/10/17  We really enjoyed our stay. This is our third wedding anniversary and my 30th, so it’s been a lovely relaxing getaway. The hot tub was perfect, lovely area for it. The bed was so comfortable, thank you for accommodating my husband’s allergies he slept like a baby. Hopefully we will be back in the future. Thanks again.

Jasmine and Jamie, Penicuik, Scotland

30/09/17-02/10/17  Lovely little cottage. Homely, cosy and a relaxing break. ventured into Keswick to climb Latrigg, then Derwent Water. Ellie is shattered….as are we! thanks for a lovely stay. xxx

Sarah, Laura and Ellie (The Labrador) County Durham

25th-30th September 2017    Our first trip to the lakes and our first holiday together as a couple. A relaxing peaceful and romantic break in beautiful surroundings and a cosy cottage. Highlights of our trip were Buttermere, Ennerdale water, Keswick and Allonby beach. We even managed a trip to Scotland and Gretna Green- great experience and worth a visit. Food at the barn Bistro is spot on. Thanks to Wayne for all his local knowledge and recommendations. hope to return soon.

Sara and Chris, Caerphilly and Swansea.

2 weeks ending 16th September 2017 Thanks for the cottage, comfy bed, well planned kitchen area. Good posotopn for the Solway coast and north lakes, however the best walk was up Skiddaw mountain via Ullock pike-lovely ridge. Best wishes to Jo, Wayne and family, Robert and Kezzie.

Robert and Kezzie, Leeds

14th September. 2 nights A gorgeous relaxing few days in our first dog friendly accommodation for our anniversary. A friend of ours recommended this place and we shall be doing the same.

Steven and Alison, Northumberland

11-14th September 2017 great stay, beautiful cottage. The fire was a lovely added bonus. really enjoyed Buttermere (despite the hailstomes) and the local pubs. Would recommend. Thank you very much, Lewis and Kay

Lewis and Kay, Banbury

11-14th September 2017 As ever amazing! Everything just perfect. Thanks Jo and Wayne

Cheryl, Paul and Betty the Beagle.

31st August-3rd September 2017 Stayed for 3 nights with our two dogs, Wilson and Hank, Lovely cottage really enjoyed the walk behind Ellen Hall through the field and woods. Also enjoyed Whinlatter forset, Buttermere lake and the dogs loved the beach at Allonby! Will definitely be back again. Thank you from us all x

Stacey, Dom, and Wilson & Hank, Keighley, West Yorkshire

24th August-2nd September 2017  A wonderful relaxing week spent exploring the lake district, thanks for a wonderful place to rest and play, our accommodation has been so comfortable after our long walks. Jo you have been fantastic and so welcoming. Loved the hot tub! See you again next year xx

Beverley, Barry and Archie (the Dog)

25th Aug – 1st Sept ’17. Wonderful quet stay. Perfect for exploring the Lakes and the coast. Hot tub was fantastic and very relaxing. The fields over the river were great for letting Holly stretch her legs. Thanks.

Darren, Megan and Holly.

28th August – 1st September 2017. Alovely quiet & relaxing time celebrating our Honeymoon. The hot tub was amazing! Looking forward to a return visit.

Vicky & Rob, Macclesfield.

18th-25th August 2017  Thanks for another wonderful stay at Ellen Hall, so peaceful and relaxed coupled with a perfect location for the hills and the coast. Thanks for all the chats, doggy fusses and recommendations! Look forward to another stay soon xx

David, Jo and Charlie the springer.

19th August – 24th August 2017. We have really enjoyed our stay here. So peaceful and relaxing, loved every minute. A return visit to Ellen Hall but our first stay in Dykes cottage. Hope to return again soon!

Carol & Steve, Co Durham.

18/08/2017 4 nights Very peaceful and relaxing, great location to explore from and cosy to come home to. A perfect first trip to the lake district for us!

Carolyn and Chris, Essex

15th-20th August 2017. A peaceful spot from which to visit the northern lakes and Solway firth. The dog and ourselves were made very welcome by Jo. The Bar’n’Bistro was also very welcoming for a drink at the end of a busy day. Thank you

Richard and Liz, Horncastle.

13th-20th August 2017 Had a fantastic time as always. Just love coming here. So relaxing and quiet. Met some lovely people and did lots of sight seeing in the area. Thanks again Jo and Wayne for their hospitality and friendliness. As we always say, we will be back. Thanks again Mary and Jim.

 

Mary, Jim and Lucy, the dog. Glasgow

3rd August 2017- 14 Nights.  We really enjoyed our break in this cottage. Jo is very friendly and helpful, even finding me a doctor! We found so much to do and visit within an hour’s drive. Pub at the Masons Arms food is great, especially the curry. We were lucky with the weather.

David and Beverley, Canvey Island, Essex

5th-12th August  Both pubs in the village do great food. had lovely weather for the week. great place to stay, very relaxing. Will come back. Thank you

Janet and Paul, Halifax

5th-12th August 2017  Had a great time exploring this part of the lake district, everyone has been friendly and our digs are perfect, the hot tub is a nice bonus too. We will be back.

Steve and Jo, Shropshire

29th July – 5th August 2017  Found you guys on line, can’t believe that Salkeld cottage and Ellen Hall lived up to and totally exceeded all of our expectations. Perfect cottage, prefect location and perfect balance. So happy that we came here for our first ever ” just us together” holiday in 10 years……. serendipity. looking forward to our next visit. Thank you, Debbie and Graeme.

Graeme and Debbie, Old Kilpatrick

Thank you for making our stay so comfortable and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will be sure to return soon! Daniel and Maria

Daniel and Maria, Bedfordshire.

22nd-28th July 2017  We have had a great break. Definitely one of the BEST! The countryside is beautiful. We can’t believe how dog-friendly it is – AMAZING. Jo and Wayne are lovely people, very friendly. the cottage is really nice and very relaxing. There are so many great walks, our dog loved it. We will recommend to family and friends and we will definitely be back. Rhona, John and Millie.

Rhona, John and Millie, the Patterdale. Paisley, Scotland.

21st-24th July 2017  Lovely break for our wedding anniversary. pleased that we chose Salkeld Cottage. it’s spacious but cosy and met all of our needs. Enjoyed the steam cubicle and made good use of the hot tub—- amazing. Visited the coast and our favourite lake, Wastwater. thank you Jo and Wayne for your hospitality, feeling nice and relaxed x

Karen and Malcolm, Northumberland.

21st-23rd July 2017  Back again to these lovely cottages. The quiet and relaxing time has been fab again. We will be back again without a doubt. Thank you Jo and Wayne x

Josie and Alan, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

15th-22nd July 2017  Well I’m not sure what to say apart from WOW!! Cottage is lovely, Hot tub great and Jo and Wayne amazingly friendly. Never felt so relaxed after just a few days, not sure how I’m going to get back into ‘work mode’. Thanks for a great stay.

Nicola and Dave, Kettering.

14th-17th July  A lovely, relaxing stay, everything we were hoping for to get away for our wedding anniversary. beautiful quiet location. Unfortunately didn’t get to use the hot tub, maybe next time. Ideal location to explore the beaches and area around Maryport (recommend the Captain nelson for a meal) and Allonby. intend to return.

Jannis and Phillip, Blackpool

10th-15th July 2017  beautiful relaxing break, walked loads (Derwentwater and Buttermere) 7 enjoyed Keswick and Cockermouth, so dog friendly (and people friendly!) Also discovered Allonby ans Silloth- lovely for a walk and an ice-cream. Jo and Wayne, thank you so much for your recommendations and helpfulness- made our stay even better (if that was possible…) Will definitely be visiting you again.

Tina, Joy and Billie, Oxfordshire.

8th-15th July 2017  Never would we have picked a holiday like this as we usually go abroad but it has been amazing. Cottage was clean and cosy, bed very comfortable. the weather was perfect, so much to see and Jo was a mind of information on what to see and where to go. this holiday has been very peaceful and tranquil and so relaxing just what we needed to get away from the rat race of Nottingham. hot tub is definitely something to do. thank you so much Wayne and jo, we will definitely recommend your cottages.

Vanessa and Barry, Nottingham

10th-14th July 2017  Had a fantastic tine staying here at Parlour Cottage on our honeymoon. We were made to feel very welcome by Jo and Wayne, we’ve already said that we will definitely be back, hopefully for our 1st anniversary next year. Lovely weather, beautiful views, amazing stay. Thank you for a lovely stay Darren and Melissa x

Darren and Melissa, Newcastle upon Tyne.

9th-14th July 2017 2nd time here and enjoyed it just as much as the 1st time. Many thanks for the wine. Had some good walks round various lakes in perfect weather, just what we wanted. Many thanks.

Rosalie, Howard and Buddy. York.

7th-9th July 2017  The cottage is perfect for a lovely getaway. it has everything you need and the hosts could not be more helpful. We will be back again.

Douglas and Caroline, Northumberland.

7th-9th July 2017. Very enjoyable weekend, weather has been fantastic. Cottage was lovely, had a well deserved spa at the end of our day walking all the way round Buttermere. Very nice indeed, already looking forward to coming back next year.

Diane and Michael, Staffordshire.

1st-8th July 2017  Our second visit here and as always a great place to stay. The cottage had everything we needed and very comfortable. We would definitely recommend. Many thanks Wayne and Jo

John, Sue and Brice (the border collie)

2nd – 7th July ’17. Lovely cottage in peaceful surroundings. Our first trip to this part of the world and we would love to return before too long.

Kay, Mike (+ Ruby). Hebden Bridge

3rd-6th July 2017  Lovely break, the accommodation was superb. The hot tub was amazing, in such a beautiful spot. very warm welcome and friendly service from Wayne (didn’t get to meet Jo). Would highly recommend and I’m sure that we’ll be back. Thanks.

Jo and Kirsty, Liverpool.

 

 

  • Testimonials

    30th May- 3rd June 2016 We have returned here for our honeymoon, we arrived to a complimentary bottle of wine to congratulate us on getting married-Thank you!! We have had a fantastic week exploring and relaxing. Our last day has been spent sunbathing in the garden and drinking prosecco in the hot tub-perfect end to a perfect week. Thank you so much!! This is the second time we’ve been here and we’ll definitely be back xx Love Lynn and Jack
    Lynn and Jack, Newcastle.
  • Contact Us

    • Add telephone number and we'll get in touch with you.