fbpx

Reset Password

Testimonials

August 29, 2016 by Wayne

Guest book reviews and testimonials for Cottages Made For Two-

6th Jan 2024 7 nights

Very relaxing, views are beautiful. Thank you Jo and Wayne x

Kim & Tom, Glasgow

27th Dec 2023 6 nights.

Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay. Lovely little cottage. Jo and Wayne very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

We will visit again 🙂

Kev and Julie, Newcastle.

23rd Dec 2023 6 nights.

We have enjoyed our stay over Christmas. The Hayloft was lovely and had all we needed for our stay . Plus the Christmas tree was a lovely touch and made it festive. Our hosts Jo and Wayne were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble if we needed anything. We will definitely come back to stay xx

Shelley & Neil, Nottinghamshire

Dec 28th 2023 5 nights.

We returned to Salkeld for a post Christmas stay having had a great time last year and this stay has been brilliant as well! Walks on three days out of the four, with the museums of Keswick providing comprehensive history of pencils. Jo and Wayne again were perfect hosts. We will be back again before too long x

Matt & Rose, Cambridge.

15th December 2023 2 nights.

Relaxing stay! We had a good time. Thank you Jo for being ever so helpful. Beautiful place.

Myles & Amal, London

Dykes Cottage – 8th December 2023 2 nights

A lovely relaxing weekend for our silver wedding anniversary 🎉 . The cottage is cosy and comfortable and the area is peaceful but easily accessible to anywhere you want to go. I might be converted to a log burner! Thanks for everything.

Kev & Lisa, Bolton

Salkeld Cottage- 8th December 2023 2 nights

Amazing cottage, celebrated Jade’s 30th birthday. Super helpful hosts. Great time in the hot tub. Beautiful walks despite the rain. Thank you for a lovely break.

Jade, Daniel & Sasha 🐾

19th November 2023, 6 nights. Another lovely stay at Parlour cottage, always really quiet and restful especially in the hot tub by the stream. Christmas lights in Cockermouth got us right into the festive spirit and the lake District around Butteremere and Derwent still so beautiful with Autumn colours. Hope to be back soon! Thank you Jo and Wayne

Karen and Mike, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Hayloft Cottage – 17th November 2023, 2 nights.

Our first time staying here and well what can I say. The cottage is amazing, so cosy sat with the fire on. The hot tub was tremendous, we are very impressed. Thank you! Emma and Shay x

Emma, Shay and Louis 🐾 Glasgow & Newcastle

Dykes Cottage – 17th November 2023, 2 nights.

We are so happy we picked Dykes cottage, it was a well awaited break for us , late anniversary break. Steam room and hot tub were very relaxing, bed was comfortable and the swans & petals were added which was lovely. Jo and Wayne were always welcoming to help, lovely people. Definitely come again, thank you for everything. Lesley and James x

Lindsey and James. Liverpool

13th November 2023 4 nights. I’m so glad we’ve been here, it was a long awaited break and I’m so grateful that we got this time together. My body feels more relaxed thanks to the cosy fire, hot tub and days of nourishing feasts. Hope time here leaves people feeling relaxed to return home. x

Em and Shauna, Shefield

10th Nov – 13th Nov 2023. A wonderful, peaceful & relaxing stay! Cosy & great to curl up by the fire after a day braving the frost at Allonby (Still had to have the ice cream  & ‘doggie delights’ from Twentymans). Sunday lunch at the Mason’s Arms is a must! Thank you.

Diane & Chris, Molly & Murphy. Co Durham.

27th October 2023, 2 nights. We really enjoyed our stay here. Perfect for couples and dogs, our boxer Bella 🐶 loved it. Jo was very helpful and answered all of our questions, what a lovely host. Good location. Thank you for having us, Jordan and Samuel.

Jordan and Samuel, Manchester

27th October 2023 2 nights

Finally managed to have a break away to celebrate my MBE award and now leaving engaged 💑💍🎉 Thank you Anthony & Jessica x

Anthony and Jessica, Chorley

23rd Oct – 25th October 2023. We had a lovely stay at Hayloft Cottage, thank you so much Jo & Wayne for everything. Just what we all needed for a recharge away from reality. We look forward to our next visit.

Alex, Connor & Nala, Woking.

16th October 2023 (5 nights). Came here for our honeymoon. Cottage is perfect and in a great location for exploring the area. Even managed to introduce Artur to coastal fish and chips. It was everything we wanted and we hope to come back. Thank you Jo and Wayne!

Gillian and Artur, Glasgow.

23rd Sept – 30th Sept 2023. Amazing accommodation! Very peaceful surroundings. We have had a lovely week…. storm Agnes did her best: but she didn’t phase us. Beau the dog enjoyed the walks & sniffs……. definitely recommend this place….. We loved it!

Liz & Doug, Thetford.

21st September- 7 days. Thank you so much from us all for a super quiet break. Very helpful and friendly yet again Jo x

Julie, Ian & Billy dog. E. Yorks.

2nd – 9th September 2023. What a beautiful place! Peace and tranquillity after our short journey over from home. Dykes cottage is perfect for us, a cosy little place for 2 with everything we need. Jo has been a perfect host, giving us details of things to do and handy tips about the local area.

Christine & Martin, Teeside.

Aug 20th – Aug 27th 2023. Our sixth year coming to Ellen Hall and it just gets better! When visiting Cumbria we simply would not think of staying anywhere else. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place.

Christian & Julie, Sandbach.

9th September, 7 nights

Had a lovely relaxing week in the peaceful surroundings of the cottage. Jo was very helpful if you needed to ask anything. The hot tub was well worth the money. Location was perfect to explore the surrounding area and The Masons Arms is definitely worth a visit.

Tracy and Andy, West Yorkshire.

Bank Holiday Weekend- August 2023. Lovely peaceful spot. Cottage is great and owner very friendly. Even our dog Dillon is sooo chilled out! Spotted a young otter in the stream, just a few yards away- will miss sitting on that bench and relaxing.

Greg, Paula & Dillon. Stoke-on-Trent.

19th – 26th August 2023. Loved every minute. Cosy cottage, very comfortable. The hot tub was an added bonus and very relaxing 🙂 A great location to get out and about. Spent an afternoon in Buttermere, walking around the lake. Conquered Cat Bells and Maiden Moor. Lots more to do though and hopefully be returning soon…….

Sarah & Nick, Stoke-on-Trent

29th – 31st July 2023. This is our first time staying at Hayloft Cottage following a friends recommendation. We loved the tranquil, secluded location away from the hustle & bustle of modern living. We’ve enjoyed our own living space, which is nicely decorated and smell gorgeous! 🙂

Leah & Charlie, Derbyshire.

23rd – 29th July 2023. What a wonderful time we have had, beautiful scenery, peace and quiet, very welcoming hosts- Jo and Wayne. Thank you.

Gary & Claire, Tisbury.

20th July 2023 8 Nights

We have had a fantastic time in your gorgeous cottage. We couldn’t have asked for more. Your property had everything we needed and was perfect. We enjoyed exploring the area and getting much needed fresh air and exercise. We will tell everyone to come and visit. See you again soon xx

Rachal & Stephen, County Durham.

15th – 20th July 2023. Please copy this email to your testimonials as we forgot to use the guest book. We had an absolutely amazing time at Stables cottage, perfect for visiting the coast and the Lakes. We will be back and hope to use the hot tub. Thank you!

John & Debbie, Manchester

10th – 17th July 2023. Had such a nice relaxing week at Ellen Hall.The cottage was beautiful as so were the fields and the little brook.The owners were so nice .We forgot to write in the guest book when we left on Monday 17th of July.I so miss how quiet it was though and how dog friendly the Lake District was. I’m positive that we will be back as we had such a lovely stay.

Helen and Nichola, Lancs.

2nd – 6th July. Homely, cosy accommodation. Recommend Aspava Turkish Restaurant, Full House Chinese Take Away, in Cockermouth. Great hosts, thank you.

Wendy, Stu & Chester. Grantham.

30th June – 2nd July 2023. Such a lovely cottage to stay in. My husband surprised me for my birthday! Very peaceful and lovely to wake up to the birds singing. We will definitely return, maybe then I can go in the hot tub- having two casts on my legs doesn’t help! Many thanks again for a lovely stay.

Alice and Stephen, Nottingham.

24th June – 1st July 2023. Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely cottage. A perfect way to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary. We have travelled far & wide, returning each day to settle down in comfort. Wonderful scenery, walking & meals in local pubs & cafes. Topped off, weather permitting, by sitting on the bench on the bridge.

Sue & Pete, Sheffield.

29.05.2023 – 02.06.2023. We have had a great stay!! Totally enjoyed the surrounding areas & Lakes. Explored a lot of the tows & villages. Jo & Wayne- thank you 🙂 We were blessed with glorious weather as well. What more could we ask for? (what’s that you say the hot tub). Best wishes.

Louisa & Stuart, Norfolk.

28.05.2023 – 04.06.2023. We had a great stay week here at Hayloft cottage. celebrating our anniversary & Iain’s birthday. The perfect getaway. We’ve enjoyed a great mix chilling in the cottage & going out & about- great recommendations of place to visit. Loved the weather this week too, it’s like being abroad sitting on the balcony! Hopefully see you again soon 🙂

Jennifer & Iain, Wirral.

25th May 2023 3 nights

What can I say, first time here for us, absolutely fantastic, what a gorgeous cottage. Nothing was too much trouble for Wayne and Jo. Wonderful cottage, a retreat in the countryside. Hot tub on the last night listening to the trickle of the stream. Finally the Mason Arms pub up the road is a massive recommendation. See you soon guys, thank you so much, we will be back xx

Andy and Julie, Leeds

26th May 2023 2 nights

We have had an amazing stay at the cottages. Everyone is so lovely around here and very helpful. The cottage is beautiful and the location is amazing. This cottage is the perfect place to stay if you want a break from the real world and connect with nature. Our doggie loved his first holiday. We will return. Thank you very much love Nikol, John and Freddie  🐾

Nikol, John and Freddie 🐾 Liverpool

20th May 2023 7 nights.

Fabulous stay in Parlour cottage. Had everything we needed.Beautifully located for a peaceful relaxing stay within easy access to the unspoilt Cumbrian coast and the Lake District. Thanks Jo and Wayne for your hospitality and ordering the fabulous weather. We will definitely return

Ruth and Gary, Cleckheaton, West Yorkshire

28th April 2023 3 nights

Our first visit here, lovely cosy cottage, relaxing, just what we needed. Steam shower and hot tub added bonus. Would definitely recommend and would visit again, Found Jo and Wayne perfect hosts.

Anne and Michael, Northamptonshire

28th April 2023 3 nights

Lovely cottage in tranquil setting. Ideal location for trips to the lakes. Definitely be back again. Thank you

John and Marion. Glasgow

28th April 2023; 3 nights.

Another fab stay for birthday celebrations and much needed R&R. Hope to be back soon with our new canine edition! 🐾

Dianne, Chris and Murphy 🐾. Darlington

April 21st – 24th 2023. Our fourth visit to Ellen Hall, the second as a whole family. As peaceful & relaxing as always. Lovely long walks at Allonby with the dogs, excellent food at the Masons Arms. Thank you Jo & Wayne for another great stay.

Helen & Gary, Beth & Maggie, Natalie & Chris. York.

13th – 18th April 2023, 5 nights. We have spent another great few days here. The Hayloft is a lovely place to stay, the refurbishment is fantastic. We will definitely be returning for another stay, hopefully later in the year.

Glynis & John, Newcastle.

9th April 2023. 4 days of bliss, quiet & beautiful scenery. We would definitely recommend to all our friends. Thank you Wayne & Jo for the tips for day trips, we have seen some amazing sites. However, did chicken out on the infinity bridge at Honister 🙂

Kim and Carl, Catterick.

27th – 30th March 2023. We had a lovely, peaceful, relaxing stay. Molly enjoyed her walks on the beach and at Derwent water. Hope to see you again.

Margaret, Tom & Molly 🐾 Bacup.

3.3.23 – 6.3.23. Fantastic few days here. Explored Keswick market and took the boat around Derwent Water….. Hayloft was perfect for relaxation- the shower is addictive!! Need one at home. Hope to be back again.

Dave + Nicola, Rotherham.

24/02/2023, 2 night stay. Our 4th visit and can safely say that Hayloft is our favourite, in this our favourite mini-break destination Skye loves the local pub and our beach runs at Allonby: always be sure to have a Drowsy Goose coffee – 10/10. Thanks again for a lovely stay- see you soon! 🙂

Laura, Michael & Skye - Newcastle.

17th February 2023 . 2 nights. Visiting for the second time. Very cosy and romantic. Lots of space for dog to move around so was perfect for him. A great place to stay and Jo was so welcoming. Can’t wait until we’re back again. Thank you for having us 🐾 💕 🐾

Steph, Nathan and Cooper 🐾 Sunderland.

17th February 2023 . 2 nights. Nice & relaxing time. Beautiful place. Will stay again in the summer. Thank you.

Tony and Janine, Manchester.

11 – 16 Feb ’23. Another relaxing visit. Superb Sunday roast at the Masons Arms. We will return. Many thanks.

Ian & Lynne, Runcorn.

10th Feb – 15th Feb 2023. What an amazing cottage, full of character and so cosy. Thank you for a friendly welcome. Loved the log burner, it kept us very warm. We will definitely be making a return visit.

Debbie & David, Sheffield.

3rd – 6th February 2023. We loved our little cottage stay, place was perfect & setting so beautiful & peaceful. Host made us feel so welcome & we look forward to coming back in the future. Lovely time!

Susan, Karl & Barney. Dumfries.

 

 

  • Testimonials

    6th Jan 2024 7 nights Very relaxing, views are beautiful. Thank you Jo and Wayne x
    Kim & Tom, Glasgow
  • Contact Us

    • Add your telephone number and we'll get in touch with you.