Reset Password

Your search results

Testimonials

August 29, 2016 by Wayne

Guest book reviews and testimonials for Cottages Made For Two-

15th February 2019, 2 nights. Really lovely weekend away. The cottage is very cosy and included everything we needed. Location was very peaceful and relaxing which is just what we wanted. Couldn’t fault our stay here and would definitely recommend to family and friends. Thank you x

Kailey and Callum, Carnforth.

15th February 2019. 2 nights. We have had a lovely cosy stay at Salkeld cottage. Day out in Keswick to walk along Derment water followed by a relaxing evening in the hot tub- a must! Whiskey distillery is just a short drive also. We would love to return.

Jay and Megan, York

13th February 2019 3 nights. We came here for a valentines/birthday break. Lovely cottage, perfect location, attentive hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The hot tub is lovely, especially next to the picturesque stream. We would definitely come back. Thank you Jo and Wayne xx

Josh, Heather and Mutley. Lincolnshire.

12th Feb 2019 3 nights An excellent location, amazing views  and was always made to feel welcome by Wayne, a very helpful person. The log fire was a must have, very warm and cosy nights in after the pub. The hot tub was AMAZING. Stunning views from this and very relaxing. Cottage is very homely and full equipped. Thank you xx

Steve and Emma. Vale of Glamorgan.

10th Feb 2019 2 nights. Had a lovely stay in Salkeld Cottage. So cosy we didn’t want to leave. Having the log burner is amazing. The dogs have loved their stay here too. Hopefully we will be back soon.

Vanessa and Mark with ozzie and Molly. Newcastle

8th February 2019. 2 nights. Running water, birds cheeping, hot tub, beautiful cottage. What more do you want. We had a lovely stay and will hopefully be returning soon.

Nick and Viki, Mossley

1st February. 3 nights. Had a lovely relaxing long weekend despite the weather. It was cosy and comfortable, we just wanted to stay in. we had Sunday lunch at the Bistro and just chilled. we will definitely be back and also book a few days stay for my daughter, her partner and dog as they will love it. thank you.

David and Carol Brown, Liverpool.

1st February 2019 2 nights. After a very stressful month Gary surprised me with a weekend away. As soon as we arrived I fell in love with the place. Everything was perfectly kept and in place for our arrival. the hot tub was amazing and very soothing. Such a beautiful and gorgeous scenery. We will be back.

Vicky and Gary. Liverpool

31st January 2019 2 nights. Beautiful location and relaxing time. The cottage was homely and comfortable. Harry enjoyed the walks and it was a great get away.

Steve, Tiff and Harry the German Shepherd.

28th – 29th January 2019. Dykes cottage was perfect for what we needed. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and wanted a small break to end our celebration. The hot tub was amazing, location very peaceful. Definitely would recommend and come back again. Thank you Joe and Wayne.

Diana & Malcolm, South Shields

25th January 2 nights. We found this treasure on Google! We wanted a place to have a relaxing break for our 1st wedding anniversary and we found the perfect idyllic place. Jo and Wayne are the perfect hosts and advised on a great day out to Buttermere and Keswick. The cottage is perfect and breathtaking, we couldn’t have been more happy. Hot tub….amazing, so relaxed!!! Our first year here and certainly won’t be our last. We loved every second. Thank you for making our 1st anniversary so relaxing and memorable. Kim and Hels xx

Kimberley and Helen Astwood-Wainwright, Astley.

18th January 2 nights. We had a lovely relaxing weekend in a gorgeous cottage. We would recommend the hot tub after a refreshing long walk. Had an amazing time in a lovely village. Took Toby to the mason’s Arms where he was welcomed with a treat, thanks to Jo for the recommendation. We would definitely be coming again. Thank you xx

Josh, Katie and Toby the dog.

18th Jan 2 nights. We loved all the little touches here at Ellen hall. 2 nights was short lived and really didn’t want to leave. we met some lovely people and the sites are breathtaking. Would highly recommend Maryport Tandori Indian, the staff and food are fantastic.

Jo was so kind and considerate, can’t wait to come again……and see what else Cumbria has to offer . Thank you

Aaron and Amelia, Manny

11th Jan 2 nights. Lovely relaxing place, home from home comfort. We really enjoyed the log burner and views. Thank you.

Wayne and Di, Shrewsbury

11th Jan 2 nights We had a lovely stay here in Salkeld cottage, cosy, and comfortable. The hot tub is a must. We were made to feel very welcome, only wish that we could stay longer. Thank you from Karen, Steve and Ruby x

Steve, Karen and Ruby the Sprocker. Manchester

Mon 7th Jan – Wed 9th Jan 2019. Absolutely fantastic holiday. We don’t want to leave, it’s been brilliant. Hot tub was great and the log burner superb also. We will definately stay again and recommend to all our friends. Thank you.

Sarah & Tom & Archie the Dog 🐾

4th Jan – 7th Jan 2019. Stayed a night in Stables 2, was lovely. Then stayed in Dykes cottage- even better! The hot tub was bliss & the fireplace- WOW!. Log fire every night & loved the 4-poster bed, lovely. Fell very relaxed after a busy Christmas at home. Would recommend highly. Thank you, we will be back & telling friends. x

Lorraine & Mark, Bury.

31st Dec, 4 nights. Perfect getaway for New Year! We’ve really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is perfect- cosy and very relaxing, just what we all needed. Wayne and Jo have been great hosts, very helpful on where to go in the local area and overall just lovely and welcoming so thank you. We will definitely be back.

Sarah and Lynsey with Tobin and Frank (the dogs)

28th December 2019 5 nights. We have fallen in love with the surrounding area. Beautiful cottage surrounded by gorgeous scenery and lovely people. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really appreciated Jo’s tips fpr walks. The hot tub was a well deserved reward after a day of walking with the dogs. thank you so much, we will certainly be back. xxx

Siobhan and Aimee, Wigan.

21st December 2018 7 nights. After deciding to spend our first Christmas away we could not have picked a lovelier place. Jo and Wayne were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They even put up a Christmas tree with a card and present making it extra special for us. The hot tub was fantastic and with the surrounding stream made it so peaceful and tranquil. we can’t wait to come back.

Laura and Sam, Hull

29th December 2 nights. We had a wonderful stay at Ellen Hall, the accommodation is perfect for a relaxing break. The local area has beautiful scenery which was great to explore. Thank you Jo and Wayne, we will be back.

Lee and Charlotte, Manchester.

21st December 7 nights. What an amazing place. We had a really restful week Jo and Wayne are so friendly and a mine of information, lovely to meet you both. we will definitely be back.

John and Sue, Henlow.

7-9th December 2018. Lovely little cottage and very cosy with the log fire on a night. Had a drive to Carlisle which was very nice and a meal at the Masons Arms that we can highly recommend. Thank you.

Helen & Andrew, Thornaby-on-Tees

30th November 2 nights. Lovely cottage, just what we were looking for, will be back very soon. Many thanks.

Danny and Jess, N.Ireland/Yorkshire

30th November 2 nights. Had a relaxing time in this wonderful cottage. What wee needed to relax and unwind. Log fire was amazing, made it very cosy. Loved the hot tub experience. We would definitely recommend staying here. We will be back next year hopefully for three nights. Lynn xx

Lynn and David, Kilmornock.

17th November 2 nights. Beautiful place, really enjoyed our stay at Ellen Hall. Hot tub was great. We look forward to visiting again. Thank you.

Chloe and Nadeem, Lancashire.

16th November 7 nights. Amazing cottage and amazing owners. We had a beautiful week away, peace and quiet. Some great days out with Wayne and Jo on hand for anything we needed, especially paracetamol; after a grueling 6 hour drive here!! We would love to return, lovely grounds, great location, we couldn’t have asked for more!! Hope to see you again, we loved every minute Helen and Richard xx

Richard and Helen Nuttman, Hertfordshire

16th – 18th November 2018. Really enjoyed our stay! Lovely and peaceful, a nice break from city life. Wish we could’ve stayed longer. Cottage was lovely, had everything. Sox approves of the surrounding countryside- plenty to sniff! We will certainly visit again! Thank you.

Laura, Ben & Sox

8th – 12th November 2018. Our first visit to Ellen Hall- absolute peace & tranquility. A get away from our busy lives in Emergency Services- not a siren to be heard- just the beck and the birds!. Lovely meal at the Masons Arms & a lovely welcome too, great atmosphere. The Stables cottage was clean & had everything we needed to just chill out. Would thoroughly recommend staying here to family & friends. Would love to come back.

Lisa & Bob, W. Yorkshire.

7th November three nights. Lovely relaxing place, will definitely return. everything was as described on the internet and will recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in the area. The dogs loved it, especially Murphy, our crazy sprocker, he said ”Can we stay, I love my morning dip in the river” Thank you again love Lisa, Nigel, Millie and Murphy. PS Thank you for organising the flowers and the wine, they were lovely.

Lisa and Nigel with Millie and Murphy. South Yorkshire.

02/11/18 – 06/11/18. This is our second visit here and the cottage and surrounding area doesn’t fail to disappoint. We have had a lovely relaxing time away from our busy schedule- this is just what we needed and can’t wait to come again! Thank you again for being so accommodating with our 2 rescue dogs- they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. x 🐾

Katie & Marc. Blackpool.

1st November – 5th November 2018. We don’t want to go home! We had a lovely relaxing break. Would recommend a visit to Keswick and Derwent Water. Jo and Wayne were very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much for a lovely holiday- one to remember. xx

Louise & Jordan. Basingstoke.

28 – 31st October 2018. A return break to the lovely Ellen Hall and a welcome getaway from half term (and pre-halloween horrors!). Lovely restful few days, the dogs enjoyed trips to the beach and very few fireworks! Many thanks.

Chris and Dianne (Ozzie & Murphy).

26th to 28th Oct 2018. Lovely cosy and warm cottage, even with 2 hard frosty mornings. Views great. Setting & sunsetting was beautiful. Nice & relaxing couple of days.

Sam & Steve, Nottingham.

25/10/2018 – 28/10/2018. Such an incredible location to spend our first holiday together. A very enjoyable stay in a lovely cottage. The hot tub was definately a big bonus!

Robbie & Claire. London.

Such an incredible location to spend our first holiday together. A very enjoyable stay in a lovely cottage. The hot tub was definitely a bonus.

Robbie ans Claire, London.

26th-28th October 2018 Lovely cottage, very relaxing stay and loved the hot tub. Thanks Jo and Wayne.

Kayleigh and Adam, Manchester.

Thank you for a wonderful few days in your very comfortable cottage. It has everything you need to help you to relax and unwind. Thank you Jo for recommendations re places to take Clover, excellent walks on the coast and Buttermere where she did not have to encounter close proximity to other dogs so she enjoyed her stay too. Lovely walks nearby to the cottage also. thanks again and would love to return. Karen and Clover.

Karen and Clover. Lancashire.

19th Oct 2018 1 week. Jo was very helpful. Fish and chip shop on the front in Maryport excellent. loved the hot tub and really enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Phil and Winnie, Perth (Scotland)

18th Oct 2018 3 nights We have had another lovely stay. Everything perfect as usual. Looking forward to coming back for a longer stay in December. Thank you so much. Glynis and John

Glynis and John, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne

Our third visit and we still love it despite a very wet start, after which the weather has been perfect. We have had some great walks at Wassdale, Ennerdale and Buttermere. If you fancy an invigorating drive try the Hardknott pass!! Many thanks, we hope to be back again

Rosalie, Howard and Buddy. York

19th October 2018, 2 nights. Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay here. We couldn’t have asked for more. It was everything we needed to get away from busy lives and our dogs enjoyed it too. it’s really important that we can bring them away. We hope to see you again in the future.

Steve and Nicolette, Halifax.

14th October 2018, 1 week. We really enjoyed our stay. Wayne and Jo were great hosts, there if you need them but also give you plenty of space. The cottage was great, really comfy and homely. We would love to see the area in the summer months too. We will be back and recommend to others. thank you, hope to be back soon.

John and Suzanne, Glasgow.

15.10.18 to 19.10.18. Second year at Ellen Hall, loved it so much last year, we decided to make it a longer stay this year. We have to say, the stay here surpassed itself form last year(which we didn’t think was possible). So relaxing and inviting, a home away from home. Would recommend the Masons Arms, friendly owners and fantastic food! Thank you Jo and Wayne. xx

Kaylee and Jaymie and Bing. Cheshire.

12th Oct’ 18 – 15th Oct 18. Fantastic relaxing weekend. Hot spa to die for! I think we only left the cottage 3 times, because it had everything we needed. Perfect way to spend our 26th Anniversary- we’ll be back! Thank you for your wonderful hospitality. x

Rachel & Sean, Hebdon Bridge.

4 Oct – 7 Oct 2018. Beautiful stay, very cosy, loved the fire. Thank you Jo for all your help. Will definately come back in the future. xx

Siraj & Mehjabin, Blackburn.

05/10/18 – 07/10/18. Came for a relaxing and peaceful weekend and we got it! The cottage was so cosy and warm, a great location and lots of attractions nearby. We went to Buttermere for the day which we recommend. Thanks for the lovely weekend. Will highly recommend to friends.

Mike & Hannah, Flintshire.

2-7 October 2018. Lovely peaceful stay with gorgeous surrondings. The Masons Arms and hot tub made the whole experience perfect. As well, of course, the beautiful lakes & friendly people. Thank you Wayne & Jo.

Kathy & Greg, York.

29th Sept – 5 Oct’ 2018. Had a lovely peaceful week. Excellent location and beautiful cottage. Hot tub was very welcome after a day out walking! Would highly recommend a visit to the Castle Bar in Cockermouth. Excellent food, good beer and friendly staff. We will be back…..

Shaun & Michelle (Keo & Barney 🐾). Newcastle.

3rd-5th October 2018 We came as a stopover on our way to visit friends in Glasgow. The cottage was very warm, the sauna was amazing, so was the jacuzzi. We would highly recommend this place to friends for a romantic getaway ……..Thank you so much x

Kerry and Dale, West Midlands

 

 

  • Testimonials

    15th February 2019, 2 nights. Really lovely weekend away. The cottage is very cosy and included everything we needed. Location was very peaceful and relaxing which is just what we wanted. Couldn’t fault our stay here and would definitely recommend to family and friends. Thank you x
    Kailey and Callum, Carnforth.
  • Contact Us

    • Add telephone number and we'll get in touch with you.